AUTUMN COOKIES 🌺🎃🌺

in #vegan7 years ago (edited)

Hello my Dearest Steemian Foodies!

Have you ever thought of of usinSWEET POTATO as one of the main ingredients to make cookie dough? Well,, maybe you did, but I didn’t, although I use them for pizza dough...but cookies? I did not think of that until I stumbledd uon a recipe by our famous Steemit Foodie @gringalicious.

She is not only an an amazing recipe blogger and food photographer, she is also a a very generous lady and sponsor of the Steemit Culinary Challenge. So BIG APPLAUSE PLEASE to this wonderful young lady.

Now back to her inventive HEALTHY DOUBLE CHOCOLATE CHIP SWEET POTATO COOKIE recipe that inspired me to make these Chocolate Hazelnut Cookies. For the original recipe by our dear @gringalicious please follow this link. https://steemit.com/photography/@gringalicious/healthy-double-chocolate-chip-sweet-potato-cookie-food-photo-shoot

By the way, you can use chocolate chips based on her original recipe if you prefer. I only used hazelnuts because I didn’t have chocolate chips. The taste and texture of my cookies turned out to be soft and fudgy, just like @gringalicious described.

I believe both versions are delicious, so it’s really up to you which one you choose. You can also adjust these recipes to your taste and preference, just make sure you use sweet potato because that’s the key ingredient.

AUTUMN COOKIES
Chocolate, Sweet Potato Cookies with Hazelnuts
Vegan – Gluten Free – Refined Sugar Free – Cholesterol Free

Author: @lenasveganliving inspired by @gringalicious

INGREDIENTS for 12 cookies
• Baked sweet potato
• Quinoa 1 cup cooked (1/2 cup uncooked, follow the cooking instructions on the package)
• Chia egg 2 (2tbs chia mixed with 6 tbs water. Let it sit for 10 min)
• Cacao powder 3tsp
• Blanched almond flour ¼ cup
• Cold pressed coconut oil ¼ cup (melted above the steam)
• Organic raw coconut sugar ½ cup
• Pure vanilla extract ¼ tsp
• Himalayan pinch salt just a pinch
• Baking powder ¼ tsp
• Hazelnut ½ cup
• Dark unsweetened chocolate ¼ cup (melted above the steam)
• Maple syrup ¼ cup
• Cooled coconut milk ¼ cup (only the thick part on the top of the can)

PROCESS
• Start chopping the hazelnut in a food processor (make sure it remains chunky)
• Transfer it to a small dish and set aside.
• Scoop out the flesh of the baked potato from the skin and place it in a food processor.
• Add the quinoa with rest of the ingredients except chia and hazelnut.
• Blend in the food processor until smooth.
• Transfer the mixture to a bowl, add chia egg and mix thoroughly.
• Add ¼ cup of hazelnuts and mix thoroughly again.
• Preheat the oven to 350F.
• Line your baking sheet with parchment paper.
• Start making the cookies by using ¼ cup measuring spoon.
• Shape a ball in your palms, place it on the baking sheet and press it down with your fingers.
• Repeat the process until you have all twelve.
• Top each with the remaining hazelnuts and place it into the oven.
• Bake for 30 to min.
• When ready, set aside to cool down.
• In the meantime, whisk the melted chocolate with maple syrup and coconut milk.
• Fill up your squeeze bottle, or you can just use a spoon and zigzag the chocolate on top of each cookie. You may sprinkle more hazelnuts on top as well.
• Let it cool in a refrigerator for 20 min and serve.

Note: These cookies will remain fresh in the refrigerator for few days if stored in a sealed container.

BON APPETIT & THANK YOU FOR VISITING

https://lenanovak.wixsite.com/vegan-living

Sort:  

Awesome, I could really youse some more cookies in the dark autumn evening.

Thank you so much my Dear, I am glad you like it 🌺🎃🌺

This post has received a 0.89 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @lenasveganliving. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

What a great looking cookie you've made! I love the way you were inspired by @gringalicious to use sweet potato in the dough - I bet these were fantastic!

Thank you so much my Dear @jaymorebeet, I am glad you like it 💚😊💚

Just perfect for those cold and windy evenings plus cocoa ;)) Of course :) Up my friend

I totally agree, thank you so much my Dear 💚😊💚

I've heard, that you can even use chickpeas as a main ingredient in cookies dough. You cookies look so delicious, wow! :)

Thank you so much Dear Babet............I should try chickpeas next time and see what happens, Sounds like it could work for sure 🌺🎃🌺

Yummy! I have to try this! Thank so much for sharing! I love it!

It's my pleasure my Dear, I am happy you like it 🌺🎃🌺

Hi my dear Lena, this a great recipe by the sweet lady @gringalicious, am a fan of her cakes and appetizers, i love the sweet potatoes, it's a good idea to use them in delicious cakes, i have to try them.
Happy weekend.

Happy Weekend to you too my Dear and thank you so much, I am very happy you like it 💚😊💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57292.40
ETH 3073.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32