Wild mushroom slow cooked stew

in #vegan6 years ago

image

If you vegan and miss beef stew, this one for you.

So I pick my own mushrooms before hand and dry them out, they have a unique taste that way. This is a pic before I pick them.

image

It is also better to keep them dried because they last for months, and I personally think that they taste better. Most large supermarkets sell dried mushrooms if you aren't able too pick them yourself.

So just a large handful of mushrooms will do.

image

Chuck them in a pot with 500ml water, and a teaspoon salt.

image

Let that simmer for 15 minutes, in the mean time grab some onions and garlic.

image

Chop.

image

Throw them in the slow cooker.

image

Get yourself 4 large brown mushrooms, and chop.

image

Dump them in the slow cooker.

image

Then remove the wild mushrooms from the pot, keeping the water.

image

image

Chop up the mushrooms.

image

Then I fry the mushrooms in a separated pan, it gives the mushrooms a better texture.

image

Once golden brown throw them in the slow cooker with the left over water.

image

Then add a pinch of pepper.

image

And a pinch of basil.

image

Then grab some potatoes and carrots.

image

Peel.

image

Chop.

image

And dunk them in the slow cooker.

image

Add just enough water to cover the stew.

image

Let it cook till the potatoes are nearly cooked, with my slow cooker it took me 3 hours, then add the peas.

image

I left it to cook another 45 minutes, and added a little bit of gravy granules.

image

Let it cook another 15 minutes, make some rice and hey presto.

image

Another fine vegan meal.

Sort:  

Saw this through @minnowsupporter .... Great post. Love the food

Congratulations @gguy773 this post has been upvoted and resteemed by @minnowsupporter. I'd like to eat the food by the way

Yummm!!! Love the stew @gguy773! You really have cool vegan food ideas :)

Thanks you too kind 😊

Howdy from Texas gguy773! Hey I'm not a vegan but this looks like a great stew that would be easy to fix and also be super tasty so I'd love to try it. Do you specialize in vegan recipes or is this a one time special?

Thanks, I mainly do healthy vegan meals, I hear its not big in Texas, you guys like your beef. I am glad you like it.

We do like our BBQ but I'm open-minded, thanks so much!

Its look delicious 😊😊

Who said that vegan was not tasty? Even when I was eating meat I would prefer this stew to the one with meat as it simply has better taste. Mushrooms are so good.

You make me think of my childhood. We would go to the forest every weekend all autumn and pick the mushroom. We would have so many of them. My mom would cut them stripes and we would dry them to use for delicious meals like yours in winter. My family still does it, but I'm not that confident with which ones I can pick anymore and don't want to poison myself and my husband :D

Your recipes is so easy and delicious. You just dump everything in one pot and voila - beautiful comfort food great for cold evening.

Thank you for sharing. I still have some dried wild mushrooms from my uncle so I think I'll make a stew this week!

Have a lovely Monday!

Thanks, hope you enjoy it.

Hi gguy773,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you very much, I appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58560.83
ETH 2491.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40