yummmm VEGGIE BURGERRSSSS ๐Ÿ” ๐Ÿ”

in #vegan โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

The dirty little trick that I recommend to everyone is to spread mayo (vegan mayo) on the bread, and then drop it on a hot pan for a few minutes.

Or if you're using a hamburger roll, do it on the underside of the roll.

In my experience you want it to be a really thin layer of mayo, or otherwise it sort of starts "swimming" in it and doesn't do what you want it to do.

I like to slide the bread around in the pan too while it's toasting up, rather than leave it in one place. (Not sure why, I feel like it fries incorrectly and can get stuck or something if you don't keep moving it. Maybe a pro chef would say I'm imagining it, I don't know.)

Anywhooo...

I used BUBBA burger patties.

They're ok. My favorite is the beyond burger.

The BUBBA burger is really natural; it's basically beans, oats, and veggies. So I totally recommend it. My only criticism is maybe that it has too much salt and onion and garlic flavor going on -- I feel like I can add my own flavor to it and don't need so much defaulted into it.

But anyways, it was great. I melted Daiya mozzarella on top, with a couple pickle slices resting on the cheez, I guess cooking down very slightly and melting into it.

Then I got frisky and flipped the patties one more time, cheez and pickle side facing the pan, to fully melt the cheez and kind of slightly crust it on to the burger. It was a really good move and everything was delicious.


I topped the bread with mayo, lettuce, french dressing, relish, and mustard. I put ketchup on my plate and dunked it in here and there as I desired.

Onion would have been good but we don't have any, or at least I didn't feel like trying to find one.


Meat eaters are really missing out if you don't try veggie burgers. They're great, and you can play around with different styles and flavors. And the best part is you can eat so much and still feel light and good.

@vegansilverstack recently showed off a veggie burger that he made:

His is a heartier and more health conscious way to do it.

Mine is sort of healthy too (obv wayyy, way healthier than a cow meat burger), but I have some devilish tricks and tactics that I can't let go of. And potato chips.

Sort: ย 

It looks delicious, @full-measure! Not only is it a lot healthier than a regular burger, it is also much better for the environment :)

ya!!! exactly.. easy little way to make a difference in the environment/climate is to eat some veggie burgers

!

cattle farming so bad for the planet (of course that industry likes to keep that info underknown tho hehe .. thanks for pointing it out!)

Yeah, cattle farming is extremely bad from the point of view of the environment. So much of the rainforest has been logged in order to make room for more cattle :/

I love a good veggie burger! Thanks for the mayo tip, I'll definitely try it!

I have never tried the BUBBA or Beyond burgers, they aren't available where I live ๐Ÿ˜ข

Thanks for sharing the recipe, I am looking forward to more!

sad :(

and the mayo trick.. be sure to cover the whole bread too! I didn't mention that part. Thin little layer across the whole bread. (if that wasn't obvious, hehe)

Wow, that looks good. Iโ€™ve had Bubba Bugers many a time and always thought they were tasty - not familiar with the Beyond Burger Brand.

Awesome. The Beyond brand is new (ish). Almost even a little weird how much it resembles regular meat. I believe they put a little bit of beet juice in it to resemble the bloodiness, lol. You can stick it on a hot pan and watch it sizzle just like meat. They're not cheap but I think they taste great.

Yummy indeed ๐Ÿ‘
Iโ€™m not vegan I do eat meat and I still love these! People are missing out

yaaaa, they're made for everyone!! lol

the Bubba burger ones were suprisingly very delicious when I tried them! We have a ton of Vegans on Steemit!

yup! it's a revolutionnnnn :p

it is! I just had some Kale burgers haha

So how long have you been vegan?

abouttttt.... 3 years coming up this spring! what about you??

I am not really a vegan yet, but I do try vegan recipes from time to time:).

:0 :0 one day, one day!! thanks for trying them, the animals and the planet and your body all appreciate it every time you do!

Really looks good, please talk me about flavors because i'm not sure about its flavor as you know the real flavor of burger comes from fat salt and sauce and in veggie version we don't have any. Regards

well, and oops I'm kinda gonna have to repeat the reply I just made to someone else :p

the BUBBA burger doesn't really imitate the meat flavor. There are some whole peas and carrots in the patty, so it tastes a bit like seasoned grains and veggies. Yummy, but not a meat flavor. It's more just about being in "patty" form so that it can be a good vehicle for whatever toppings you want to put on a burger or a sandwich.

Then there are other ones like the Beyond Burger that do taste like meat and feel like meat, and even fry off in a similar way (they use vegetable oils to approximate the animal fat, and it fries out of them as they hit the pan).

Black bean patties are also popular, and of course have a bean taste to them.

So there are different choices to play around with.

I'll have to try it sound like a big explosion in my mouth

it sure will be! hehe

huh without meat

yupppp, the taste of these specific patties that I used isn't really meant to imitate meat, but there are others (like the Beyond Burger that I linked to) that do have the taste, look, and feel of meat (just made out of plant ingredients)

Yammy...
Looking Delicious...
Keep doing good work @full-measure

Looks tasty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60220.70
ETH 2591.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55