You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Anonymous for the Voiceless - The Cube of Truth

in #vegan6 years ago

Thank you for sharing this, @delishtreats. I completely understand the move to veganism for ethical reasons and I confess that the disconnect between how animal proteins "happen" and then reach our tables is one I cultivate for myself. My husband was a stock farmer and is very concerned about the ethical management of livestock. Modern mass production does not promote that, as you have pointed out. As far back as the late 60s he worked for a multinational beef producer that, at the time, rejected using growth hormones in their cattle.

This brings me to the next thing: the world has so many people to feed that the world needs to find some equitable way of doing this. Too much food is dumped while in other parts of the world people starve, including in South Africa where I live. Children go to school having not eaten and, if they are lucky, get a meal at school. The only one for the day.

Tracts of land (and with it, delicate ecosystems) are being developed for agriculture - livestock less so than crops - and causing havoc, I agree. That said, small-scale and subsitence farming cannot feed the world or countries. It is such a conundrum.

Activists play such an important role in raising awareness, disseminating information and encouraging important discussion and debate on these issues, so thank you.

Sort:  

I was raised on a farm and I learned how an animal should be treated and this is why it makes me sad to see what the mass production is causing. I'm glad to hear that, at that time, they rejected using those hormones. I would wish such practices would be applied today as well..

I completely agree with you. There is no balance in regards to food anymore. There is such a huge gap between people who can afford food and waste so much of it and people who have no resources to get their food and starve very often to death. This is the issue that should be looked at first. The world population is growing but how are we going to feed all those people? It's a very controversial question as like you say small-scale and subsitence farming can't feed the world but the mass production is destroying the environment.. there is not a good solution for this in my opinion..

Activists play an important role but sometimes they might discourage people too by being too pushy and too persistent. This is why I like The Anonymous for the voiceless. You stand there, show what is happening and wait for people to come to you and show the interest in the issue.

Thank you for your insightful comment.

You are welcome. Awareness, facts and honest debate are so important

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55819.41
ETH 2522.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32