You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What everyone needs to know about dairy (milk and milk products). Q & A.

in #vegan6 years ago

I have been vegan for about 4 years now and I get the same questions from the same people. I am 6' tall and 210 lbs and they still look at me as if I am on some fad diet that is unsustainable. When I start talking about how terrible dairy is they look at me with their fluoride glossed over eyes and say things like..."well it tastes good". Blows my mind.

Sort:  

I fully understand you. I believe the main problem is in society that tells us from our early childhood that the cow milk is good for our bones. Our parents are indoctrinated too and teach are the same. But I think that it's slowly changing. The vegan movement is growing very fast and the information is widely available now. Please don't let them to discourage you! You're doing a great job!

I appreciate the encouraging words. I agree with you; times they are a changing. I was vegetarian for years prior to cutting out all animal products and when i would go to the vegetarian/vegan frozen food section at Wal-Mart there was only 2 shelves of items available. Now there are 2 doors full of products. It shows me that people are buying the items enough for Wal-Mart to feel the need to supply them and that is definitely encouraging.

My pleasure, I love supporting people doing the right thing. In Europe we are a bit behind with vegan food. However even in this one year I notice a big improvement. We can get plenty of vegan foods now in a regular supermarket. It's just a pity that we can't get any products from the US companies like Follow your heart, Beyond meat, Daiya, etc. But we live in a digital world and I can also order many products online :)

I have heard from others in Europe and Australia that vegan options are more limited since most of the major vegan companies are US based. I am really surprised in a way because the US tends to be behind everyone when it comes to social issues concerning the earth and animals especially. I would imagine ordering the items from the source would have expensive shipping. I am very thankful for online shopping , myself. :)

You are right. I find the US a very controversial country but good for you that you can find anything you need there 😊 It's expensive, that's true but I do order just minimum of my supplies..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97