1 year vegan - This is what I've learned

in #vegan7 years ago (edited)

Commercial Photography
It's been a year and 2 months since I made one of the biggest decisions of my life - I want to share my experience so far.

I dabbled in vegetarianism in my early 20's but selfishly never quite followed through with becoming one strictly. If there was a veggie option on a menu, I always chose it - not for any particular reason, but because the choice was there and I had the power to make that decision. I never pushed myself to recognize that consuming animal products was, well - really quite bizarre!
Growing up I thought I was a pretty healthy kid from a healthy family. I was never a fussy eater, if I was told that the meat on my plate was good for me – I would eat it. I was an animal lover, my whole family were - yet I disassociated what was being served in front of me to the living creatures I would coo over. It was how my parents and the generations before them lived, so how could I have known better?
For Ireland, the agricultural sector relies heavily on the meat and dairy sectors, so it's easy to see why the terms ‘vegetarian’ and 'vegan' are often dismissed or spoken with a roll of the eyes. Excluding all animal products in your diet is widely considered a 'fad' here, so I subconsciously prevented myself from becoming 'that' stereotype.

In early January 2017 I got the shock of my life when a very close family member suffered from a stroke. It hit me like a ton of bricks. Someone I considered to be young, fit and strong had instantly become this delicate being that was the one needing help for the first time in their life.
Doctor’s confirmed that this illness was a result of a poor diet. However, instead of providing dietary suggestions, they handed over multiple prescriptions and said “See how you get on with these and come back to us for a one year update”.
I felt frustrated. Providing tablets for a problem that could potentially be fixed naturally just didn’t make sense to me. But then again, considering our economic climate I suppose it makes perfect sense, just for all the wrong reasons. I decided that this was it, I was going to educate myself on the health benefits of a plant-based diet - not just for me, but for my whole family.
I became vegan overnight- something a lot of people say is quite difficult, but I had that fire in my belly to make a change!

I read articles, watched documentaries/YouTube videos and listened to every podcast I could find in order to learn more and have a concrete answer to any question a sceptic around me would have. I didn’t want to be wishy-washy with what I understood. I wanted to convince my family and friends that THIS was the best option for anyone and everyone – for your health and wellbeing, ethically and for the environment. The benefits were overwhelming, I just needed to figure out a way to express this without anyone thinking I had lost the plot.
It was about a week later when I discovered a YouTube video titled, 'This Speech Is Your WAKE UP CALL'. The video was an inspiring speech by vegan activist James Aspey where he explained his goal to raise awareness for animals and promote peace over violence. It struck a chord with me - not because I was in that mindset of a lifestyle overhaul, but because this was your average guy - he was relateable. Aspey hit the nail on the head by explaining the reason why people think veganism is 'extreme'. Breaking down the vegan stereotype provided clarity for me. It's a passion-driven subject that needs to be approached in a calm way. He stressed:

"Don't blame and shame, inform and explain."

Changes I’ve experienced in a year:

Positives

Skin:
Before going vegan I suffered with acne for years. I tried everything, from expensive products to drinking pints of water on a daily basis. Within a few weeks of eating plant-based foods my skin began to clear entirely!

Energy:
Within days of going vegan I felt instantly lighter. Despite fulfilling my normal calorie intake, my body was able to break down foods much quicker and I was left feeling far more active and energised. The high amount of fibre in my diet from whole-grains, fruit, vegetables etc, means my digestive health is at an all-time high.

Weight loss:
Yes, I lost some weight – but without actively trying. I certainly don’t restrict my diet, but I’m eating far more whole foods than ever. It’s also important to note that I never lost any muscle. Contrary to popular belief, you can STILL get enough protein from plant-based foods. Meat, dairy, and eggs aren’t essential for protein.:muscle:

Delicious food:
The food is INCREDIBLE. I’ve never been so excited to try new foods and explore new recipes/restaurants etc. But don’t panic, there are SO many delicious treats that you have in your cupboard that are accidentally vegan, Oreos for example – a firm favourite of mine! Being vegan doesn’t always mean healthy – you can be a junk food vegan too.
I’ve developed a whole new mind-set when it comes to travelling also, city breaks have now turned into food holidays!

Community:
Social media has provided an amazing platform for the vegan community. Not only is it a great way to share delicious recipes and new branded foods, but it is a fantastic way of breaking down the extremist perception that many people have. I also attended my first VegFest last summer which was a definite highlight. And no –it wasn’t some big hippie fest, it was an incredible experience with yummy food and good people.

Brighter mood:
I can’t quite explain this one, but I think I just feel good about myself overall. Making a conscious decision to change my lifestyle for the better has given me a positive outlook on life. I also feel quite proud of myself, despite the comments you get from those who don’t understand.

Negatives

Backlash:
A lot of people think that becoming vegan is a ‘phase’. Many become defensive about their own diets They will try to tear you down with common questions such as ‘What do you eat?’, ‘Where do you get your protein from?’, ‘Is it not extremely expensive?’.
I’ve learned to use these questions as an opportunity to educate others rather than defend myself. It’s so important to remind myself that I was once in that position, I didn’t understand it either!

Eating out:
I often have to do a bit of research before eating out in a restaurant that was booked by others. On one occasion, I emailed the restaurant to see if they could provide any vegan options as I couldn’t see anything on the menu that didn’t contain any animal products. They were so accommodating with my dietary requirements and when I arrived at the restaurant they told me that it would become a set dish on their menu.

I think it’s important to remember there’s no such thing as a perfect vegan. I’m still learning to adapt my lifestyle regarding material items. Yes, it can be difficult, but I’m confident that it will get easier. It’s making a conscious decision that really matters.

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @clarem!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67706.36
ETH 2616.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72