Earthships and Living Off Grid Thoughts

in #vegan7 years ago

As of late, this has been a topic of interest for me: the idea of living in a self-providing home where I am not reliant on paying rent every single month (buying the land and home to live in myself) and dealing with HOA since most frown upon allowing people to grow a garden in the front lawn or sometimes in the backyard. I want to get away from the rules of housing in cities. Owning my own place would be nice and growing my own food would be even better; having solar energy/wind power to be able to power my home by myself instead of paying monthly payments to someone else. I would know where my food is grown, where it comes from, what I put into the soil and know where the seeds come from compared to shopping at a grocery store. Grocery stores tend to have produce stored in warehouses for months or even up to a year in cold storage and sprayed with a type of wax that is either plant based or has some kind of animal product in it (Yuk!) When I had heard that apples can be up to one year old before getting to a grocery store from a cold warehouse, I was shocked.

We don't have a clue what goes on with our food and how we live. From how houses are built, what chemicals are in the walls, down to the mere carpeting and wood. The products we put on our skin, the food-like substances we put in our mouths with long lists of ingredients that are hard to pronounce, etc. It's insane how far from nature we have become. Now hearing about how states are wanting to tax the wind, make it illegal to collect rain water, etc is madness...

I started looking into Earthships and seeing how they have indoor gardens or outside, regulated temperatures in a more natural environment so heating and air conditioning wouldn't be much of an issue, all the while using recycled materials since we as human beings produce so much waste, bartering for goods and services, not having to work a 9-5 job day in and out. It is amazing that people are actually living this way!

For me personally, I would grow fruit, vegetables and greens, learn to sew, learn about veganic gardening and no till gardening. Yes I understand that it would be hard work...very hard work, but it feels like you would have more freedom in this life and who doesn't want to truly be "free"? I know I do want that true freedom, but then we have the negative aspects to consider when it comes to state regulations...For now I will be researching all that I can so I can have that kind of life someday soon.

Sort:  

There ya go! The earth herself is a self-providing home with complete abundance and love. No reliance on paying anything, anywhere.

Until I looked on Earthship's website lol. Still costs a lot of money. The Phoenix alone is 1.5 million :( And yes the earth herself is a self providing home, just need to find a cost effective way to live without having to spend so much haha. That's why I like the idea of tiny homes, shipping container homes, yurts, etc since they're more affordable.

The ufo motherships need the grid to refuel !!!

Congratulations @chelseaoates! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @chelseaoates! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60097.61
ETH 3373.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51