Cooked Food and Emotional Eating

in #vegan7 years ago

For the past few days, I have been eating only fruit and drinking water as a part of the 30 Day Fruit Challenge I am doing. On day 7, I had this intense craving for bread, starch, and fatty foods. I ended up caving to that desire after realizing that my habit for eating these types of food is in direct correlation to my emotions. Before eating the home baked herb bread that my boyfriend bakes, I was having a very stressful day at work, along with issues going on in regards to my family. My brain kept nagging at me to "just eat some." As soon as I came to my senses, I had eaten 4 slices of the herb bread, two helpings of lemon pepper rice and the root veggies that my boyfriend had baked as well.

After eating it all, I felt like a rock had hit my stomach. I became lethargic and numb. I soon realized that it's part of a habit I had grown up with whenever I was feeling sad, depressed or angry.

Feeling like I didn't belong in this world? Eat some toasted peanut and jelly sandwiches or cinnamon sugar toast while curled up into a ball while watching Netflix.

Feeling like my family didn't care about me? Eat six peanut butter or chocolate chip cookies and play video games up in my room.

Feeling useless? Binge on french fries.

All of these foods I would go to for comfort when I was down. If I wasn't feeling strong enough to handle my emotions, I would bury them with food until I felt better. The act of chewing created something for me to focus on.

When eating fruit (or raw fruits and greens), I was better at handling those emotions. Fruit doesn't make me numb, but it helps me observe my emotions and why I am feeling them. Instead of going to cooked starch and fatty foods for comfort, using fruit as a better habit when I do feel like caving would be more beneficial for me and my health; physical and mental.

These are just some of my thoughts today and where my raw vegan/Fruitarian journey is leading me.

Sort:  

I started a potato diet 3 days ago. So far, so good.
I like how I don't have to think about it much; buy a couple sacks of organics and combine in a bowl with some greens, and pepper.
I got this from Penn Jillet, he wrote a book on disrupting the relationship with food. After a month, I expect I won't have food cravings any more, so it seems worth it ;-)

Oh wow! I have heard a lot of good things about the potato diet. Giving your body more of a break since you're eating junk food. Totally get the not having to think much about it. I just buy some fruit (conventional or organic), distilled water and eat when hungry and only eat until satisfied. I had lost 7 lbs in 8 days and not having to cook anything feels amazing. The freedom! I really want to not crave bread, potatoes, and rice anymore. It just makes me feel icky and tired afterwards from what I noticed. I wish you good luck on your potato diet! Blessed be <3

Congratulations @chelseaoates! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57531.86
ETH 3051.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29