๐ŸŒถ๏ธ๐ŸŒถ๏ธ Make your own quick, fresh and tasty Chili Sauce! Healthier than store brought...๐ŸŒถ๏ธ๐ŸŒถ๏ธ

in #vegan โ€ข 7 years ago

Okay so basically I spent my life as a chili addict, addicted to all kinds of hot sauces, i'm going to name a few here and explain why they are not really that healthy....

Tabasco Original Sauce: I always had this in my kitchen and went in pretty much anything but the ingredients aren't the best Vinegar and Salt are added to the chili's. Okay so vinegar can be healthy if it's the right kinds, like apple cider. Same with salt if you use natural ones. But unfortunately Tabasco is a big company focused on profits not on health it's not using highest quality ingredients.


Nando's hot sauce: Very tasty, very addictive but contains Vinegar, Salt, Stabilzers, Propylene Glycol Alginate which is E405 (but they don't advertise the E number on the label), Xanthan Gum a powerful thickening agent made from sugar.


Huy Fong Chili Garlic sauce: Rated the number 1 chili sauce on earth according to Thrillist, seen in every takeaway imaginable and although I have used it on many occasions, I never rated it myself, one reason is probably because they put sugar in it (not a fan of sweet, in savoury things) they also use vinegar again, salt of course. Potassium sorbate which is E202 and sodium bisulfite which is E222(again they don't tell you they are E number's on the label) and that same thickening agent xanthan gum. Can't believe this was rated number one and it's worst culprit I've listed here!


I never used to read the label but once I started checking all my products and realizing that I didn't understand half the language they were using, googled these weird chemical formula names and finding out the real truth about what I was putting into my body, I stop buying prepared packaged foods.

Don't worry though it's quick and simple to make your own sauce, you can guarantee absolute freshness and make it exactly to suit your taste. I just make small batches when I need it.

IMG_20170531_182010.jpg

All you need is.....

  • Chopped Chili's of choice, how much or little you use depends on your spice preference roughly around 3 to 6 is good.
  • Garlic a few cloves to compliment
  • Squeeze some fresh lemon
  • You can add some green herbs of choice (optional)
  • Good quality olive oil enough so the mixture blends
  • A sprinkle of natural salt to taste

I used a small attachment for my food processor / blender that is great for mixing sauces, just set to high until the mixture looks like its all combined.

Use it however you like, I added it to this soup, to give it a kick and it make's a wonderful deep red appetizing broth, looking like some authentic oriental dishes that I used to enjoy!

soup4small.png

Let me know what you think....
Do you use store brought Chili sauce?
Are you concerned about some of the ingredients they put into these products?
If you are already using store brought sauces, are you know inspired to make your own?

๐Ÿฅ‘ ๐ŸŽ๐Ÿฅ ๐Ÿ‰ ๐Ÿ‡ ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿˆ๐Ÿ‹๐Ÿ‘ ๐Ÿ๐ŸŠ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ

For more health and diet tips, check out @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet ๐ŸŒฑ can change your life and change the world
โœŒ๏ธJoin the food revlution nowโœŠ

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

Sort: ย 

Love this post!! I LOVE making hot sauces ๐ŸŒถ๐ŸŒถ๐ŸŒถ before going alkaline I was addicted to Frank's red hot and sriracha. Now I just make my own โค

Never heard of that sauce, but nothing beats your own blend. personal alchemy!

great post! i think always making stuff your self is better

That looks amazing =) I'm starting to make more and more by myself. Recently I made a blackberry jam and it was soo good =). It feels so much better to make your own instead of buying premade chemical bombs with tons of sugar.
Great post =)

Oh wow blackberry jam! did u have to use a lot of sugar, can you make it with sugar alternatives? would love to see it, did u post it?

I did use a little bit of sugar. But I don't think it's neccesary. You can Always boil the berries with some dates and then when you scrape them through a netted colander to get rid of the seeds you will get all the dates too. Use a little potatoe flour if it needs to be thickened and you should be good to go.
I haven't posted it yet but I will try make a new batch for next weekend using dates =). If successful I'll post it along with recipe :)

wow sounds amazing i guess the natural sugars preserve it, can't wait to see it!

Yeah and I plan to add a Little lemon juice as well to make it last longer. But berries contains a lot of anti-oxidants that makes it last for a while =)

Release the Kraken! You got a 18.13% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @celestialcow!

Awesome recipe! I love chili sauce, I can't even imagine how much money your recipe is going to save me ๐Ÿ˜‚

Lovely simple recipe, and no-one can argue that going to the shop to buy sauce is any less time consuming than making it homemade! And this way we get a delicious sauce with no harmful additives. I love easy recipes like this... keep them coming @celestialcow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59181.56
ETH 2521.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47