Keto vs intermittent fasting?

in #vegan5 years ago

When I hear the word keto I shudder, after doing some research myself and even trying out keto for a day and seeing surprising results to reduce belly bloating I still wasn't convinced. The portions are too small, too many restrictions, not enough calories and basically forcing yourself into a state of starvation, where you may have problems with cognitive function, not able to think or speak clearly.

My video on vegan keto one day trial got a lot of back lash on reddit from keto heads telling me that one day isn't enough but I think it would be foolish to do keto more than a few days in a row. Because the human body is designed and elvolved for short periods of fasting and then eating enough food when it is available. Keto does allow for that, its a rigid starvation plan that could do damage on the body when continued for long periods of time.

In the quest to be healthy or loose weight there would have to be some restrictions in place when it comes to your diet of course but to the level keto takes in too is unmanageable for a human body to function, especially when doing a vegan keto diet in particular because non animal based product food is digested so quickly. I don't recommend calorie restriction at all for your body or mental health but what's called drawing the line between healthy foods and not healthy is all that's needed.

I encourage eating as much healthy food as possible, and on the last mean of the day make sure there are a few hours to digest your food before going to sleep and at least leaving 12 hours before eating your next meal again. Allowing your body to rest and replenish. Personally I feel alot less bloated, more satisfied through out the day and generally healthier by practising intermittent fasting especially if I can get a bit of exercise in before eating my morning meal.

Let me know your thoughts, do you agree or not, are you doing keto or fasting? How do you feel about it?

Sort:  

I know keto diet as a tool against epilepsy (works sometimes, sometimes not) and I confirm that you need 3-4 days to adapt. Accordingly you should not start with the ratio for long time use. (I don't remember the numbers, lease look them up.)

Keto diet is based on changing the main energy source from carbohydrates to fat compounds (ketons). It works in general but the body needs time to adapt. Just like to fasting periods too.
In the first days your body is still relying to carbohydrates which makes you feel hungry and angry (a plain result of having low blood sugar, that is).

I cannot tell whether a vegan keto diet makes sense. Being vegen in general gives you less calories than nonvegan food. I think you should rather blame it to the vegan part not on the keto part. Maybe you need to give yourself more time - and bigger portions of food - to adapt than with non-vegan keto diet.

Thank you for your thorough thoughts on this subject. I didn't know it could treat eplipsy that's interesting to find out! I personally find it difficult to live without carbohydrates, and it's apparent to me we as humans are adapted to thrive on carbohydrates, just eating too many at the wrong time with little physical exercise is when carbs have a negative effect because we are not burning them off. I think lifestyle is a big factor if this diet works for you or not too.

I am doing intermittent fasting and its really working. I have lost five kilos since i started.

🙌 Nice im glad it's working for you, I truly given your body enough hours of rest and time to digest does wonders for health and wellbeing aswell as maintaining a healthy comfortable weight

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

wow, u sure got over your camera shyness.. nice one!!! my opinion.. IF your body asks for it, go for it.. as with all diets, its not for everyone ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63