๐Ÿซ Chocolate gem ๐Ÿ’Ž Banana bread cake ๐ŸŒ for the #happybirthdaycontest

in #vegan โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

choc4.jpg

Here's my entry to the #happybirthdaycontest held by the spectacular birthday girl @vegan.niinja.

I choose to made the humble banana bread cake. This is always my staple cake mainly because it doesn't require much sugar and I normally have loads of surplus ripe bananas lying around.

I make all my cakes gluten and wheat free, this one is nut based and consider it to be fairly healthy!

choc8.jpg

It's always best to use the ripest bananas for ease of mashing and maximum banana flavor.

Ingredients

Ripe bananas mashed
Chia egg
coconut sugar
1 tsbp baking powder
1 tsp himalaya salt
homemade almond milk (200g almonds)
and the left over almond pulp
chopped walnuts (200g)
Carob or cacao for dusting on top ( i used carob)
chopped almond for sprinkling on top

choc7.jpg

I don't have an oven but I do have a bread maker that has a cake setting, this is the first time trying it out so I wasn't sure how long to set it. It needed at least 1 hour and a half in the end because my cake was very moist. I was hoping it would rise a bit more but I don't make cakes often so maybe it was too dense or just that the bread maker isn't hot enough for this mixture.... any tips for me let me know!

choco9.jpg

Whilst the mixture was baking away in the bread maker, I started melting some chocolate, these were chocolates I had previous made and have stored in the refrigerator. I used a ban Marie and heated them gently (to keep the cacao officially raw) then I remolded them to make these cute little gems and stars chocolate decorations.

You can check out my full raw chocolate recipe here....

choc1.jpg

choc3.jpg

You can leave them to let them cool down at room temperature or pop them in the fridge to make it quicker. They were all set by the time the cake was done, which did take a while but the good thing about a bread maker is there isn't really a risk of burning the cake. A bread maker is fairly low consumption on power a 1 hr program is around 0.5kw whereas an average modern oven is around 2.4kw. I didn't decide by choice not to have an oven just I don't have a working one in my apartment but I don't mind as it does save me money on my electricity bills. In hindsight it seems ridiculous to heat up a large oven for the sake of using one tray/ one shelf. I think compact ovens would be more ideal for apartments

choc6.jpg

After taking the banana bread out of the oven I sprinkled some of the chocolate gems on top, they start to melt into the cake which adds an extra element of deliciousness. The cake is pretty much all eaten already because its guilt free and healthy there was nothing really to hold me back.

choc5.jpg


I hope you like it @vegan.niinja, happy birthday to you and much appreciation for holding such a fun contest :)

teamgirlpowabanner.jpg

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

Banner.jpg

๐Ÿฅ‘ ๐ŸŽ๐Ÿฅ ๐Ÿ‰ ๐Ÿ‡ ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿˆ๐Ÿ‹๐Ÿ‘ ๐Ÿ๐ŸŠ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ

For more health and diet tips, check out @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet ๐ŸŒฑ can change your life and change the world
โœŒ๏ธJoin the food revolution nowโœŠ

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

Sort: ย 

I love it! It's so creative and looks delicious!

Your posts are always inspiring for me! I also wanted to make a bread of Banana, but I prefer your recipe. The chocolate gems remind me of the candy crush game! . By the way, I read the post about the not so healthy foods, and what about the soy I feared it.

aw thank u! u should try banana bread anyway u want, there are loads of variations but im glad mine gives you inspiration. I know the soy thing is bad, I never bother with it.... I dont think it a coincidence that many fast food products contain it in America and it's so big as a vegan alternative. i feel there is a conspiracy, not even sure if it should be fed to animals:( i think you have access to all other kinds of beans where you are... all are healthy! u dont need soy regularly.

I'm always down for a slice of banana bread! Those chocolate gems are super cute and festive, as well. :)

That looks so good, and it's vegan too - I do love chocolate, and the almonds and walnuts are a nice balance :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestialcow from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Wonderful, really wonderful and delicious! You know I really love banana bread, but never make my own! This was the best birthday cake/bread I would wish to have! Thanks so much, and that chocolate looks so good, so smooth and shiny, I think its so great to make everything from scratch. ;) THANK you for your entry!!!

Wow that looks stunning :) I love the chocolate gems <3

Wow ! Looking delicious ....Nice entry ๐Ÿ˜„

Yummy this looks amazing! I love banana bread, one of my faves. :) Also those choc gems are really cute ;)

This looks and sounds delicious! ๐Ÿ˜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61904.94
ETH 2583.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57