Absolutely Avocadotastic ..... check out these cute little avo's 🥑 muy pequeñito 🥑

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

I'm very fortunate to live in a country where I can buy avocados for around €1.99 kilo - €3.99 kilo they are also of a high quality and delicious. Quite a lot of avocados grow in the south of Spain so it keeps the price low.

avo2.jpg

I would get quite disappointed in England buying avocados, finding the cheap ones were really watery and tasteless or expensive ones taking forever to ripen and many of them being really bad inside!

avo4.jpg


avo7.jpg

I wanted to share these beautiful little avocados I recently found in the local veggie shop for #fruitsandveggiesmonday many thanks to the inspiring @lenasveganliving for holding the regular competition :) so I can share this with you.

These little cuties are some of the tastiest avos I've had, the flavor is super condensed and they barely have a seed in the middle just this thin tube like thing that's the texture of rice paper. Even when they are a bit bruised there's barely any discoloration in sight. Thanks to the internet i've found out they are called cocktail avocados


avo6.jpg

I often just cut open an avo and just dig in with a spoon, or chop them up into sandwiches. The best is whipping them up so they are all creamy, just dip carrots, celery whatever you like or use for spreading, or just eat it as it is.

This is are definitely the fattiest thing in my diet but I do crave these healthy delicious creamy fats on a regular basis.

Unfortunately these little tasty pops were only available as a one off's it seems, the box was sold out and I never saw them in the shop again.


avo5.jpg

Here is an example of my weekly food shop, you can see what my average avo consumption is like :) All this costs around 20 euros, I also spend around 5 euros on canary bananas and pick up whatever other fruit and veg I fancy as an when I need it. Its mostly organic apart from the tomatoes, avos and oranges but they are high quality and tasty unlike the standard supermarket vegetables.

avo.jpg

Hope you enjoyed Absolutely Avocadotastic!

💚🥑💚🥑💚🥑💚🥑💚🥑💚🥑💚🥑💚🥑💚🥑💚🥑💚

healingfoodschallengexs.jpg

Check out my healing foods challenge, a place to share experiences and recipes on self-healing, and also have a chance to win SBD

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

Banner.jpg

🥑 🍎🥝 🍉 🍇 🍐🍓🍈🍋🍑 🍍🍊🍌🍏

For more health and diet tips, check out @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet 🌱 can change your life and change the world
✌️Join the food revlution now

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

Sort:  

These avocados look more like cucumbers than avos.

i thought they were pickles at first, these are the best ><

Never seen an avocado like that. We are also so lucky to have avocados for around $2-2.5 a kilo. Didn't know that Spain had so many avocados. This explains why I had so many when I was in Barcelona last year hehe.

WOW, nunca los había visto antes. Aquí no hay esos, pero hay unos similares.

yo tampoco hasta ahora, de dónde eres?

cultivado en España

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 16:27:13
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 66.10/100.00
Total Photos: 12
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Oh my goodness, I thought they were cucumbers, lol..............absolutely mind blowing my Dear, especially for an avocado addict like me. I wish I could get these here in Toronto. I would love to try them 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

i know im so lucky to have tried them >< if only i could send them over to u! thank u so much for the resteem :)

i also just read online that these are unpollinated thats why no stone and may have been wild but now mainly cultivating in spain. Normally they are sent to france and used by top chefs but they started launching them at an expensive super market in the uk now, only since dec 2017 so must be growing more this year but only available in winter

Yeah i love those mini avos too and strangely enough i never had one thats gone bad! Theres a couple of stalls on our market that sell them. Keep looking.

i think that might be too with them being no seed, i think they are suppose to be un-pollinated or something. The fruits natural journey is to ripen to break down and sow its seed, but as these ones dont have one maybe thats why they last longer??? excellent arent they!

Wow looks like great value for money. Dread to think what that would cost in the Uk. Thanks for sharing 👍

tell me about it, that's why I left. I'm not a high earner and just watching my money fly away on poor quality veg, I was getting a good local organic veg delivery for around £20 but during the winter months it was really lacking for variety. I really need a of vitamin D, so making the move was essential, I found there are quite a lot of English jobs available in Spain plus being a digital nomad help ;)

Ooh I thought it was huge pickles ! =)) Avocados are the best ! ^_^

i thought the same!

I've never encountered avocado with such shape, here. I have only seen them online 😂

r u in canada? i guess its a bit far away, i saw an article that they are selling these little guys in england for and retailing it as a gimmick for ppl who find it hard to cut avos open, ppl who cut themselves doing it. I swear that has never happened to me! cant imagine what they are up to?

https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2017/dec/07/marks-and-spencer-stoneless-avocado

https://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/food-and-drink/marks-and-spencer-stoneless-avocados-launch-supermarket-available-to-buy-eat-seedless-cocktail-a8096746.html

That's so cool. I've never seen those in Belize either, or when I lived in the US for that matter.

spain is truly a Pandoras box of surprises, really rich country, im lucky to be here altho belize sounds nice ><

We are definitely coming to the UK soon, and we are thinking about making a little jaunt down to Spain for a week or two. Sounds like it might be a good idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61023.73
ETH 2948.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51