Edamame Two Ways

in #vegan6 years ago

eda3.jpg

I had to clear out my very small freezer. We have a bar size fridge which was what came with the apartment that we recently moved into.

I had a bag of frozen edamame that I wanted to use up. This is not an item that I use often but I think I will use it more from now on. Edamame are young soybeans which seem to be quite a bit more common in Asian cuisine and I believe Japanese tend to use them the most. I really like the texture of them.

I had some other items that needed to be used up as well so I gathered them together and ended up making a stir fry that I would accompany with some Jasmine rice.

I chopped up some garlic, ginger, green onions, cabbage, and zucchini which was all I had in the fridge to add to the edamame, and stir fried them in a small amount sesame oil then added tamari, peanut butter, rice wine vinegar, chili flakes, a small amount of maple syrup, salt, pepper and a squeeze of lime juice.

eda.jpg

I drizzled some cilantro avocado cream that I had in the fridge made from avocado, garlic, lime juice, salt and cilantro.

eda4.jpg

eda2.jpg

With some edamame still left over, I proceeded to make a hummus. I have seen edamame hummus in the store so with the tahini I had in the fridge and some avocado, I combined these items instead of the traditional chickpea hummus and make a nice dip for our picnic later when my other half would arrive home from work. We work opposite shifts and don't get days off together so we hang out at the local parks to enjoy these evenings together.

I added garlic, lime juice, jalapeno pepper and purred all of the items together adding salt to taste.

eda7.jpg

eda8.jpg

eda5.jpg

I was able to clear space in my freezer and fridge so I could go to my favorite grocery store around the corner which is well known for it's variety and prices, to load up again.

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Edamame are so lovely! I eat them at least once a week. It's quite popular at Japanese restaurants too.

What a great idea of including them in hummus.

Oh, and your presentation is beautiful!

Thank you for sharing my dear!

Oh hello @delishtreats. I am just discovering this. I have had it once or twice but now I will explore.
Thank you for your kind words and hope you are doing great!

Oh what a pretty meal and love that dip as well! Hope you are enjoying your summer days dear!!
xx

Aww thank you darling very much!

Have a great sunday!!!

So lovely...glad to see you! I love your dish, isn't it wonderful to clean of the fridge and fill it with fresh goodies? Somehow it just makes us happy right? Are you still working your crazy hours?

Hello my friend. I am working the evening shifts permanently and Marc is the opposite early mornings. We have to just deal with it for now.
Yes clearing out the fridge is kind of fun and exciting. I pack way too much into a small bar fridge but it keeps me getting fresh stuff more often haha.
Thanks and all the best!

Clear out the fridge meals are almost always my favorite! I adore edamame, so I'll look forward to seeing how you use it. This is a gorgeous plate, and I'm sure that dip will be a great snack for a picnic!

I really need to use edamame more often. I think it's becoming more popular.
Thanks so much!

Congratulations @carolynstahl! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I love Edamame and I find them evry versatile, as you just proved that they really are, lol. Very creative and delicious Carolyn 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

Oh thank you Lena! I really am interested in them more these days.

mmmm I love edamame. I like getting it with salt still in the pods, mmm yummy!

Oh thanks @mrchef111! I will have to try them in the pods if I can find them. I like that idea.

You are very welcome! Yeah that is pretty much the main way that we get them here, in the pods. :) So yummy, just snacking on them like that.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-16T18:50:24
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 443.98/800.00
Total Photos: 61
Total comments: 24
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 1.38 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79