Some thoughts on the subject of veganism.

in #vegan5 years ago

Years ago before I became vegan I never would have predicted the subject of veganism/diet would have become so massive/popular/widespread.

rustic-vegan-1567770-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Rustic Vegan on Unsplash

Even though I consider myself vegan and have researched the subject in depth for close to 4 years now I try to stay open minded and..

I've been watching some of the debates and reading many of the comments associated with such and in general and it's just surprising to me sometimes.

Many people have become violent over the issue on both sides and many have resorted to violent language as well on both sides.

Also before you misconstrue what I said when I use the word violent, the word violent according to my etymological research is suppose to basically just mean "strong" or "forceful".

You can have a violent wave in the ocean that harms no one, violent doesn't necessarily mean anyone is being harmed or that anyone is attempting to harm.

Though many people on both sides do get their lives threatened and there have been some physical altercations as well.

I've actually had my life threatened numerous times before for trying to stand up for the animals in a similar way that I have from speaking out against illegal/corrupt wars.

I've personally found that the vitriol I've got from animal exploitation defenders is the most extreme out of any arena I've spoken out in.. Even in anti war circles which is pretty surreal to me.

I can sort of understand, from the vegan perspective people are often speaking out to what they perceive as injustice done to animals. Torture, murder, rape, enslavement of sentient beings that cannot speak our language and who don't deserve such treatment and it even goes further to the destruction of our environment and threatening the survival of our own species..

And on the other side animal eaters often believe exploiting animals is not only normal, natural and healthy and that there's nothing wrong with it but that a vegan diet is unhealthy and that there's a conspiracy to make people weak by the people in power and that their very health and the health of their loved ones is on the line.

The debate is only growing and becoming more and more prevalent and intense. And recently a few interesting exchanges happened I want to touch on briefly.
Askyourself vs Stephan Molyneux and Vegan Gains vs Sv3rige.

The debate with Askyourself and Stephan was pretty good, very civil and respectful and much more about the philosophy and morality and while I've appreciated Stephan in the past as he helped me discover anarchy and a higher understanding of freedom.. He also lost me when he started defending Trump and also with his stance on veganism.

He was unable to really offer a good answer to the "name the trait" question and was doing mental gymnastics and it wasn't very compelling what he said. They talked about a future more in depth debate which I hope happens cause that would be great to see and I'd be curious as to how he continues to defend his position when it seems like there really is not logical answer in my opinion.

Then the debate with Vegain Gains and Sv3rige was just weird.. Sv3rige asks for proof but never offers any of his own proof and basically rejects all science except that which supports his position and almost always says stuff in absolute manner and expects testimonial anecdotal evidence to be satisfactory when anyone can say anything and that doesn't make it true, especially for the masses.

Looking at the comments on both of their pages each side thinks their guy won.. The vegans think Vegain Gains won and the carnivores/animal exploiters think Sv3rige won.. It's so bizarre and weird to me.

I guess it shouldn't be.. I've seen people cling to their beliefs so much in my life that it shouldn't surprise me at all.
Yet.. It's still just so weird.. I think the main thing I'm noticing is a massive confirmation bias, on both sides but especially the animal exploiting side.

Both in what I've observed and experienced in personal debates the animal exploitation defenders tend to cite certain info that they believe in and totally disregard and ignore anything that challenges their belief system.

There's just overwhelming evidence of so many healthy people at the peak of human physical fitness in virtually every sport winning world records and doing it all on plants and that alone to me is enough for me to ask myself.. Well if they can be so healthy and do so much on just plants, why can't I?

I don't need any studies when looking at it that way, though the overwhelming amount of studies and especially credible/non industry funded studies are on the vegan side.

As much as animal exploiters claim that vegans in general are deficient in nutrients, studies show we are not and the top athletes in the world who are vegan show me that without needing to resort to studies.

I've met or seen quite a few people who've been vegan either since birth or most of their lives and who are at the peak of human health and fitness and.. Clearly it works for some people, I don't know why it doesn't seem to work for others?

I have some theories and one of the main ones has to do with gut bacteria and how people become adapted to foods they've eaten a lot of throughout their life and so it can be difficult for them to switch to new foods.

Though in the end.. It keeps coming back to this for me. If I can be healthy without intentionally harming other sentient beings with my life, why wouldn't I?

After close to 4 years of eating vegan, I don't feel like I'm missing anything. And I see countless other people who are similar and who've been vegan much longer. I have thousands of vegans on my Facebook friends list and I see overwhelming evidence on a regular basis.

Animal agriculture is likely the #1 cause that is destroying our environment in many ways and that it is unsustainable with our population and hunting is as well with such a large population, so in order to make it work you would have to reduce the population greatly which is sketchy as heck.

It just seems to make an overwhelming amount of sense to me that veganism is the healthier route for individuals and the planet after years of studying it and living it.

Though clearly there's a lot of people who disagree majorly and even violently so and who wish physical violence on people like myself for simply wanting a healthier more peaceful world.

It's fascinating and amazing to me that there is such a large debate over this still, it doesn't seem like it should be so contested and that more people should realize what I and so many others have realized. Yet.. Here we are.

A world that is so addicted to exploiting animals and so confused about what is healthy that we might extinct ourselves because people can't give up enslaving and torturing and murdering innocent sentient beings.

PS.. To the couple people on steem I've debated this with in the past and stopped responding to, I apologize. I've been extremely busy and unable to keep up with my messages. I hope to some day get back to those conversations.

victoria-shes-1505954-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Victoria Shes on Unsplash

Sort:  

This is one of the most interesting vegan testimonies i've read so far, i am not a vegan but as i'm getting older, i'm systematically letting of the meat and anything produced or coming from animals... I'm not vegan, but i don't know if it's the global trend or the global warming that is making my stomach change its habits ..
Lovely pictures, Unsplash is a great source of aestethic photography !

Glad to hear you found my testimony interesting! Thanks for the feedback.
As an ethical vegan I think it's great to hear that you are reducing your consumption of animal products. :)
Do you mind if I ask why? Is it because of health concerns or something like that?
I see after that you mention that you're not sure if it's a global trend or climate change, so maybe you're not sure as to why?
And yeah! Unsplash is a great source and those pictures of vegan food sure do look yummy! :D

I'm not a vegan but I think that's a really good testimonial that you put forward. I appreciate your perspective on the issue and learning more about the topic. I dont think that eating meat is a necessity by any means. It's more of a preference. I've tried to cut back on my meat consumption but I could surely do more

Thanks for appreciating my testimonial and for sharing some of your thoughts.
That's interesting that you don't think meat is a necessity and also admirable in my opinion that you have tried to cut back on your consumption. If you don't mind me asking, what has been preventing you from reducing even more? Are you having trouble finding more plant foods that you enjoy eating or something like that? I may be able to help you with some ideas for tasty meals. :)

I still eat it mostly just because I enjoy it. It's not a great reason and that's why I cut back. I kind of struggle with the guilt of harming animals but enjoying eating them. I'll admit that sometimes I just dont think about it. I did go for a long period of not eating any meat - approximately 2 years. But then I slowly reintroduced it to my diet again. Maybe one day I'll stop for good?

Posted using Partiko Android

Good points and discussion. I am not vegan, but I am not a big fan of meat products. In the past 5 years or so my desire to eat meat have been diminishing. That is, if I have a choice of foods, I usually go for breads, salads, pasta, and a multitude of other stuff out there, instead of red meat or chicken...

I am always hungry for seafood though. I don’t know if it has to do with specific needs of my body or just my taste preferences.

And I like some milk products. Cheese, butter. But I know they are also created through processes that are very inhuman (unless it’s milk and butter from a local small-scale farmer family who treat their goats like a part of their family)

As for eggs... I don’t know. Large-scale Chicken farms are horror. Small farmers are ok, I remember being a kid and renting a room by the sea at one lady’s house. She had s backyard with hens and we could go and get our own eggs in the morning for breakfast... They were just there, you could pick one or two up, and they weren’t fertile eggs. But for large-scale egg trade such conditions are impossible. The only way I see to make it humane is if everyone has 1-2 hens if their own as backyard pets. But who wants to deal with that and take care of them, let alone the question of how many people can afford having a house with s backyard...

I know if I have to survive in the forest or something, I will hunt and kill anything I can to feed myself or my kid... but I also know that in order to survive in the city, I can get my proteins and vitamins from many other sources that don’t involve that much violence

The whole vegan/meat eater debate is very heated indeed... I’ve read those articles on how meat farming hurts the environment... but then they say the same things about vegetable farming.

You are right in this
If there is a choice of so many foods rich in nutrients
Why stick to meat?

One day I was tempted to pick up a dead deer on the roadside. My family eats meat, and I thought - why not? Someone’s car just killed it, it was still warm, it would be eaten by animals or rot there anyway... so I offered my parents to put it in the trunk and carry it to the cabin we stayed in. Guess what. No one wanted to deal with skinning it and cutting it up)) Fresh clean meat “product” right there... But no one wanted to do the work of making it look like store bought meat ready for barbecue

And I thought to myself - if we didn’t have stores and if we actually had to hunt for every piece of meat, look that animal in the eye, and deal with cutting it and preserving it... the number of people eating meat every week would drastically diminish )) because then it would be challenging and hard work. They made it so easy for us - go to the store and grab your steak. If meat was accessible only through people’s own hunting or killing farm animals they raise, then most carnivorous people would become much more restricted in their eating habits.

Thanks for acknowledging the points I made and for appreciating the discussion and also for sharing some of your thoughts as well!

As an ethical vegan I think it's great to hear that you have been eating less animal products.
And yeah I dunno about the seafood thing either though in my case personally I've been allergic to seafood since I was young, and by allergic I mean that I can't eat it without throwing up. Even the smell of it bothers me and makes me want to vomit. However, recently some vegan companies have created fish substitutes so I'm really curious to try them and see if it was a taste thing? Or if I can eat them now that they are in plant form? I dunno what's going on with me there but I think it would be interesting if I could eat the vegan substitutes and not the actual real fish. I wonder why that happened to me as well if it was some kind of genetic thing? Or... Is it in my mind? I remember one time when I was a young child on the beach of Mexico and there was like hundreds if not thousands of dead fish washed up on the beach and it probably smelled really bad.. Maybe that experience when I was really young stuck with me in a psychological manner? I'm not sure..

And yeah I used to really like dairy as well! I went vegetarian when younger a couple times and cheese was difficult to quit. The vegan substitutes helped me there though and not I have vegan cheese and vegan milk with my meals sometimes and don't miss it at all since I get the same taste without the cruelty to animals involved.

Also.. Small farms to tend to be nicer to the animals but in the end they are still enslaving them against their will and often raping and murdering them and even pets in my opinion are kept against their will. I know that's not a popular thing to say even among vegans as many vegans are pet owners, but I personally think animals should be free to live their own lives. And virtually all contagious diseases humans get are caused by animals so I think nature is telling us something there.. It's saying stop living with the animals or you're going to keep getting sick and dying.

If I had to hunt in a survival situation to live I would also, though fortunately I'm not in that situation and I'm able to get all the food I need without directly paying for animals to be exploited.

When you mention people claiming vegetable farming is bad for the environment I would suggest that we feed animals more than twice as many plants as humans eat.. So that would be a lot less if we weren't feeding livestock so many plants, and then second I would say most of those arguments I've seen are about transport and shipping plants around the world, which is a problem though animal agriculture is worse than all transportation combined and there are ways to grow and buy food locally at farmers markets or even grow your own garden and food and you can bypass the need to ship food around the world.

You are right in this
If there is a choice of so many foods rich in nutrients
Why stick to meat?

Good question. Each person must answer it for themselves, but I think that's a good place to start.

Also that was a very interesting story about the deer roadkill you found.. And yeah I think if people had to hunt and kill their own food the picture would look a lot different for sure!!
Many times when I debate this issue animal product defenders will claim they don't kill the animals so they aren't doing anything wrong, but.. They are paying for that to happen like a hitman and if you pay for someone to be killed you become an accomplice in the court of law. Furthermore, the slaughterhouse workers often develop a psychological disease called PITS from killing sentient beings so much and crime rates go up with slaughterhouses go in, so the killing of animals leads to more psychological disease and crime in human communities as well.

Also I have to wonder.. How easily could we be led to war in other Nations by crooked politicians if we were so firm in our beliefs that we wouldn't even swat a fly for annoying us or killing an animal for taste pleasure? I think and I'm not alone in this that the way we treat animals leads to us treating other humans worse as well.. Some famous people have quoted in the past that there would be no wars among humans if we didn't treat the animals so poorly. Whether true or not, it's something to think about I think..

Congratulations @apolymask! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71