Recipe: Tofu chana masala with a twist! 🍛

in #vegan5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20181128_161740__01__01.jpg

There is something so extraordinarily good about spicy food with Indian flavors. Perfectly balanced, bursting with different tastes and colors.
I believe that the key to making really awesome Indian food is having loads of spices at hand, and learning what time which spice goes in. With loads of spices, I mean like 7-30 different types.

Some of the spices go in with the onion, and you fry it really good. Some spices taste more when you add them to the oil before you start to fry anything. And some spices are best when added to liquid, others are not.

How do I know when to add in which spice?
The answer is simple: Experiment! There is no solution except to find out what you like, but what you can do is use other recipes as guidelines.

The star of the recipe I'm about to learn you how to make is Garam Masala
Garam masala is an Indian spice mix. You can either buy the mix at ethnic shops, or you can do as we love to do and make your own.
Even though it's the name for a spice-blend, garam masala simply means "hot spices". There is no written way on how to make it, but below is a list of ingredients that is typical for this blend.

  • Ground Cumin.
  • Ground Cinnamon.
  • Ground Nutmeg.
  • Ground Cloves.
  • Ground Cardamom.
  • Ground Black pepper.
  • Ground Coriander.

Today's recipe:
🍲

Tofu chana masala!

Serves 3 hungry people.
Prep time: 10 min. Cook time: 40 min.

🍛


You will need:

~ Rice ~
~ Tofu - 1 block. ~
~ Chili - I used 2. ~
~ Garlic - 1 whole. ~
~ Ginger - 4 cm piece. ~
~ Onion - 1 or 2. ~
~ Bell pepper- 1-2. ~
~ Tomatoes - 1 can. ~
~Tomato paste- 3 Tbs. ~
~ Cickpeas - 1 can.~
~ Vegan butter- Or oil. ~
~ Bay leaves- 3 leaves. ~
~ Garam masala spice mix.~ 5 Tbs. or more. ~

IMG_20181106_183558.jpg

1: Prepare your rice

According to the package instructions, or how you like it.
In the meantime:

2: Cube your tofu.

Add it to a pan (preferably a non-stick one) on medium heat.
Remember to stir now and then, add salt and pepper + some oil if you need.
The tofu is finished when it's crispy on the outside.

3: Finely chop the garlic, chili, and ginger.

Cut the onion the way you like it, the same goes for the bell peppers.

4: Warm up another pan to medium heat.

Fry the onion for about 2 minutes before
adding the chili, ginger, and garlic.
Fry it for a minute or two, before adding in 2 tablespoons
vegan butter or oil.

5: Throw in all the spices.

yes, in the onion-mix!
Add the bell peppers, stir and fry it really good for about 8-10 minutes or until it is soft and completely soaked in spices.
Your kitchen will smell really good at this point.

6: Add in the tomato puree and the can of tomatoes.

Followed by the bay leaves and some water.
Stir, and let it simmer for about 20 minutes before adding the tofu,
and then let it simmer for 10 more minutes.

I added a tablespoon more butter,
and squeezed in half a lime when it was about finished.

IMG_20181128_161830.jpg


Love and light, Emilie / @umulius - Ambrosia crew.


Logo liten.png

We are 'Ambrosia ~ vegan food and herbal healing.'
A small group of passionate beings with a burning desire to both share and gain more wisdom about nature, our bodies, and how they connect.
With our traveling vegan cafe, we are looking to accomplish many things, you can read more about our vision in our introduction post.

~Here is a link to our Facebook-page. ~

🌱Leave a comment or follow us if you wish to support our vision. 🌱

926af2538724677040b80e77c36271ea-flower-life-sacred-geometry-by-vexels.png

Sort:  

Yum yum yum, so happy to have found you, surprise I haven't seen your recipes before. I love making my own Masala, and I even have a Bay Leaf tree on my front porch, makes for great incense too. I have all these ingredients you list, except I can't eat mild peppers... however cayenne is my go to and or other peppers are fine. Thanks for the recipe so trying this, this week! and followed ya! I like adding eggplant with this. nom nom nom nom!

Haha, so happy that you like our recipes!

I love bay leaves, and I'd love to have bay leaf tree myself. That's something I'll consider to do get.
I looove spicy food myself, after a trip to India for a couple of months my taste buds completely changed. Now I really CRAVE spicy food sometimes. It started with sriracha, but now that's not spicy enough either. I'll try to buy some really spicy peppers and make my own chili sauce.

I like the Idea of adding eggplant, might have to try that myself.
Thanks for the comment, @kimmysomelove42
Have a beautiful day! :D

Omg. That looks tasty as hell. Why do you like to torture me? Now I'm hungry.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, I'm not sure how to reply to that! Buth thanks a lot, makes us happy @zemiatin :D

Your Recipe has been featured in the Steemkitchen Picks Of the week Article. Thank you for your continued Support. May the Hunger Stay with You.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94