Sort:  

I guess I still have a lot to learn...

I was under the impression that images could be preserved on the blockchain, i take it I was mistaken? Is there some way to preserve PDFs or images through posting to Steemit or would it need to be embedded in code somehow? (this would be way over my head, btw)

It's a bit over mine also technically, but yes i remember reading that only text stays on steemit. But there are already some decentralized cloud cryptos being developed, so maybe we can join efforts with something like that or develop own steem decentralized storage.

Thanks for responding here @zedikaredirect, it makes sense really. Cloud cryptos sound very interesting, as I do not trust Microsoft, Amazon, Apple, Google, etc. with the safe storage of my files.

I am pretty sure the reason Steemit asks for the URL to post pics etc is because it writes it out into metadata which is the ultimate tool for preserving things in the blockchain-So even if you do post a pic or vid-That point of reference is marked with its individual coding and then put into the blockchain normally. <3

Also-Are the documents archived??? <aybe try that form as well as that does work with pictures etc <3 way back machine.org is pretty useful

Hi transisto - what does this mean - this page will be someday maybe deleted....? how it works?

Not the page, the images could be. Soon it will be possible to host them onto IPFS, or maybe SafeNetwork, where they will be sotred in a decentralized way.

I see - good to discover that there is this handicap... I just used to copy paste pictures into posts...

it's weird that pictures are not handled !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63885.30
ETH 3142.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86