Conclusion of "Educate Before You Vaccinate"

in #vaccines6 years ago

About a week ago I wrote a post titled, "Educate Before You Vaccinate." In that post I mentioned that I was making a trip to the pediatrician's office for my son's 2 month check up and during that appointment I planned on telling our doctor that I no longer wanted to vaccinate my children. (I have four boys ages 11, 5, 2, and 2 months). I spent months researching the subject. I read numerous studies, articles, and watched lots of documentaries. Assuming I would get push back from my pediatrician when I made this declaration, I printed off what I thought was the most important research to show him. I had prepared a speech in the hopes he would not ask us to leave his practice. I prayed on it to. I asked God to not only give me the courage to stand up for my voiceless children but I also asked him to guide me with the proper words when addressing this with the pediatrician. God answered my prayers.

Anthony's two month check up was today. I was so nervous I was sweating and trembling. The anxiety was building up while we waited for him. When he walked into the room we had the usual conversation and as soon as I had my opening, I went for it. Much to my surprise I received ZERO push back from the doctor. He told me it was my choice and if that is what I decide to do then that is OK with him. He told me if I ever had any questions to just ask and if we run into any issues regarding their health to let him know. I was so stunned (and relieved) with his response I started crying right there in his office. I couldn't believe it. I was stunned. We just started going to this pediatrician right after Anthony was born. So because we are still getting familiar with this doctor I had no idea what his views were on this subject. But I wrongly assumed he was going to tell me I was wrong and if I didn't vaccinate my children I would have to leave the practice. The doctor we were going to previously was practically a robot and we could not stand him. I know in my heart if we were still going to the previous doctor it would not have turned out the way it did today.

The next battle to take place will be with the schools. I am in the process of registering my second oldest son for kindergarten so that battle will take place sooner rather than later. In my state you are only permitted to get a medical or religious exemption. I am obviously going for the religious exemption. I am prepared to fight if I have to. I am hoping I get the same reaction as I did today with the pediatrician but I am ready to fight if I face resistance. I am also prepared to home school if it comes down to that. I did find a great article regarding how to go about writing your request for a religious exemption and I included the link here: https://www.livingwhole.org/how-to-get-a-vaccine-religious-exemption/

In closing, if any of you reading this can learn anything from experience, my hopes are you learn to educate yourself with the facts, to always follow your gut - aka the Holy Spirit, and to always do what is best for you and your family. Even if it is not the popular choice. And hey, maybe you will be pleasantly surprised with the outcome! Thanks for reading :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @missalicia911! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @missalicia911! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @missalicia911! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57882.05
ETH 2579.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35