You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'll take my natural immunity 🖼 any day over vaccines💉

in #vaccines7 years ago

Hi, great post! I think you are absolutely right, natural immunity will always be much more effective than anything a vaccine can provide.
With so much controversy around whether to vaccinate children, it's good to hear stories from unvaccinated adults. My youngest child is completely unvaccinated, my oldest had a few. To stop vaccinating was the best decision I ever made.

Sort:  

" I think you are absolutely right, natural immunity will always be much more effective than anything a vaccine can provide."

Care to explain why do you think this is the case?

https://steemit.com/vaccines/@canadian-coconut/how-the-measles-vaccination-program-has-destroyed-herd-immunity

Here is one example. I think this post explains better than I could on this thread. Of course this is a controversial topic and everyone is entitled to their own opinion, these are just my personal views.

@katem The post you linked seems to propose that the single reason why natural immunity is more effective than the protection provided by vaccination is that it lasts longer. I find the reasoning in it confusing and a bit difficult to follow since the premise seems to be that for things to work out "naturally" mothers would have to get sick in order to then transfer their immunity to their babies...

It seems a lot of people are missing the obvious:

Here’s the important thing about natural immunity: to get it, you have to get the disease! There is no universe in which it is better to get the disease so that you are protected from future infections for longer rather than simply avoiding getting the disease in the first place! Personally, I rather my children never have to experience suffering the damage (and potential life-threatening effects) of contracting Pertussis, Hepatitis, Malaria or Polio just to give their natural immunity a chance to work by itself!

This principle is explained in the following article, which nicely dissects in very understandable terms why the span of protection provided by vaccines is effective even if it is not life long, why it is temporary in the first place, and why boosters are not such a big deal as some people seem to believe:

https://thelogicofscience.com/2015/05/10/vaccines-dont-give-lifelong-immunity-but-they-are-still-better-than-natural-immunity/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56769.00
ETH 2325.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36