You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [ENG][ESP] - Case of Surgeon: Friendship with scalpel. - Caso de Cirujano: Amistad con bisturí.

in #utopian6 years ago

Hii sir @drmaizo, I am @vinaykumarr, a medico from India. Your post is really informative and I had some doubts regarding the surgery, two years back my friend met with an accident and he had same kind Of fracture in the distal part of radius and even a carpel bone.
I don’t know why bones grafts are taken only from the iliac bone, can you please tell me.
Thank you

Sort:  

Hi @vinaykumarr, a pleasure to greet you friend colleague, I am glad you liked my post and I will gladly answer your question. Actually, we can take bone grafts from various places on the body.

For example, grafting of: proximal metaphysis of tibia, iliac crest, distal metaphysis of femur and even the distal third of the radius as well.

Most of the time we use "iliac crest" because it is a relatively easy and safe technique that offers a greater amount of bone graft than other sites, which is important in a fracture reconstruction surgery.

Greetings :)

Imagen (Fuente)

I leave you an explanatory image where you have a sample of the large amount of graft that can be obtained.

Thank you sir, for spending your valuable time and answering me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57531.86
ETH 3051.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29