pyCoin logo contribution

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

I looked threw the requests when I found this one. A request for pyCoin made by @avnigenc. They requested alot of diffrent sizes. If the designs gets picked i will help with creating all of them.

The concept is simple the execution was a hard.

As we have a p and a y and it is a blockchain based crypto currency (very interesting btw). I came up with a 3D looking like PY. If you look at the shape on the left side, you see a P and the right side you see a Y. And all of this in a 3D looking like block.

The benefits are a that they now have a logo

I hope you like it as much as I do.

The logo:

logo.png

Two diffrent styles:

example2.png

example1.png

Font used : source sans pro

Colors used in these styles:

colors.png

Some more color concepts:

diffrent colors.png

Black and white

As i don't used outlines the only version that would work is the black version.
b&w.png

Diffrent sizes

sizes.png

A example:

example3.jpg

I used illustrator

Proof of work

IMG-1143.JPG
IMG-1144.JPG

creation.png

All the files in one handy folder

Let me know if i missed something



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

I love this work you did! The most interesting I think is the one with the yellow!

I like the blue - brown one the best. But not realy a color combo alot of websites or people use :D Tnx for your visit borthermic

it was my pleasure looking at this fine art :)

Ty for your kind words @brothermic

I realy love this style. It is 3D yet 2D and the diffrent color combos all look good. I wonder what the project owner thinks of it.

So do i, did not recieve a comment yet. Lets wait and see :D

the log is nicely presented. hope she comes back very soon

Ok, thank you

Wow. You are really talented

Much appreciated!

Friend I hope that this time the mod is fair and I accept it!

hehe so do i, but you never know with the mods. Sometimes they accept junk and other times they don't accept something nice. To much personal feelings in there judging.

That's right, that's why I say that I hope this time they're fair.

Hehe tnx, and i hope they are. Tnx for the visit!

Looks truly amazing, i like the block PY concept. It is diffrent everytime you look at it. Yet very familiar. Thanks for sharing

Wow tnx for your kind words @ricbo

Wow zoef this looks fancy. Thank you for sharing it on discord. Where you not gonna stop contributing on utopian?

Hey your welcome. Tnx for comming in and looking at it. Your input was great. I liked the concept of the logo. I was gonna make them something anyway. Lets atleast hope i get a upvote for the work i invested in it :D

The logo was very well done, you have talent! Congratulations

Thank you very much

Thank you for your contribution. We will come to a decision after all the contributions have arrived. I do not want to be involved in discussions.

Understood. I feel sorry they dragged you in here. Ty for the visit none the less.

Your contribution cannot be approved because it does not follow the Utopian Rules.

  • dont use informal language
  • "But at this time it is to much of a burden" - not neeting their requests
  • no need to display logo in 700px
  • no version of logo in one color provided
  • low contrast on their website
  • not enough proof of work provided. We need to see construction
  • Is it made from block, because its blockchain project?

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Ok this is silly. Stop making up rules and false acusations. This is getting silly.

  1. That is a soft rule. And edited in 2 seconds.
  2. I said when my design gets picked i will provide it.
  3. that aint a rule.
  4. The black logo is one one color
  5. Right click -> open image in new window. The contrast is fine on all my screens. And in the end it is a visual representation and not a fact that it needs to be on that spot. Colors can be edited. It is a example.
  6. Every step is provided in both the creation.ai file and as a screenshot. I provided my drawing ideas and the execution.
  7. Yes it is made from a block (and who cares)?

@espoem @podanjr

And upvoted for the trouble caused. Yes you did your best Zoef

Ty @scipio and i agree.

I don't see any rule violation either. And I think we need to have a chat about changing the way graphics contributions work.

Thats my biggest point. In essence a mod like this is prohibiting me from getting a upvote. That aint correct. I rather have them say they dont like it and why. Then i can learn something. Now it is just silly and it costs me money. It feels like a big downvote to be honest

I don't like this logo either. But your comments are utter nonsense!
For example:
Is it made from block, because its blockchain project? <= yes, so? He associates the form of the logo with the chained block-nature of the blockchain. You may not like that, but by itself that's a valid creative approach!

@elear , @littleboy , @jedigeiss : this is a fantastic example of why we should evaluate whether the graphics category should exist at all, or change it to a 99designs.com contest form: same principle as for development, only 1 merged bit of merged (= accepted, winning) code gets upvoted.

But in this case, the graphics mod is seeking for subjective reasons to reject, because he subjectively doesn't like it (neither do I personally) but objectively this contribution is following the rules.

Let's discuss this guys

PS: self-upvoted for visibility

This is a valid reasoning. It would mean alot of designers would no longer create anything. But quality wil improve drasticly

Did you know zoef banned due to flagging a moderator? and he threatened to do so twice (which i saw). did you fix that issue, secure your mods? Give them free space to decide independent?

Also another dilemma to figure out
Screen Shot 2018-02-18 at 19.19.53.png

if andrej did it without giving any feedback it would be acceptable and there would be nothing to talk about right now? I may invite you to review-discussion channel then. Everyone expecting a reason. Without reasons they start to seek for it.

..and I personally didn't appreciate your approach.

..and I'm hoping you are not discussing it in private after making it public. I'm having such a great monologue

Yeah i downvoted mods before. That is steemit. If i call you a jerk or act like a douch and get a downvote from you i would understand. If i downvote a mod for not approving because of bs reasons he deserved it in my opinion.

And because of that i actualy got a supervisor to act. If words dont work actions are needed.

Did i downvote andre today? No i did not because scipio listend and responded with logic. Unlike the bs i heard from the mods.

Well, this is weird you've just said, we should change it to 99designs concept, which only the best one gets the price, yet you are giving upvote to whoever makes his best?
You can take a look to have a sense of how graphics mods doing such a great job with eliminating good and bad design. https://anilkilic.github.io/utopian.overview/ ecxuse the interface. Just to get a quick idea..

And this is not a fantastic example to get rid of graphics or change how it works. It's just one in 1000.

I've seen many absurd samples, like a great logo not accepted at github because they didn't want to change their 4 year old branding which was very very bad and old. And a simple circle gets accepted to just to refresh the project.

I'm not telling it's the best approach but without getting into it, don't change the rules out of nowhere.

The clue of it all is simple. The curent rules are the rules. So when a mod does what andre does and invents rules and blatently lie. We do not agree. With the 99design it would be the best that gets rewarded. Scipio gave me a upvote for my efforts wich is nice of him. And has nothing to do with utopian. I did however had a long talk with him. And i partialy agree with him.

Unlike other mods he was straight forward and explained his point of view. Most graph mods spill out bs reasons and afterwards dont explain why.

You are the only one who speaks "bs", if you have a calculator add up contribution count divide it to mod count at reasanable working hour, mods aren't tutors neither teachers, however they are trying their best to give feedback and lead users. But most of users doesn't even care, like you said "it's soft rules who cares soft rules". Soft rules for newcomers or new rule changes to adapt to it. Not to abuse all the time. Do you even know I did search at least 1-4 hour to find a plagiarised content? and how many did I found? 1 hour for a contribution at least. mean if I work for 6 hours I can only review 6 content a day.
These things already been discussed and it's improving day by day.
And you already had the chance to pitch your design to project owner, and always welcomed if you get an approval from there. If you are not happy with mods decisions you could go that way but no, you knew you won't get accepted there too, this is not your first case.

It would be a shame if they decide to change things based on your contributions and complains.

Wow great explenation. You know what the issue is. I speak my thoughts and i speak reason. When there is bs i say there is bs. If you dont like that, that is your problem. The system like it is now does not work.

I couldn’t care less at this moment.

Then why make a comment like that?

The contribution has been accepted. The given reasons were not enough not to approve this contribution.

[utopian-moderator]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66201.27
ETH 3279.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70