You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tutorial (Godot Engine v3 - GDScript) - GUI for score & lives!

in #utopian-io6 years ago

May have been worth mentioning that it is good practice to child HUD type canvas items to a canvas layer. I know its not necessary for this type of game, but still worth letting new people know.

At least I had no clue when I first started :P

Sort:  

Hi wolf. As I mentioned in the article, I dislike the Canvas Layer right now, as it can't be hidden from the editor. OR is there a way that I'm not aware of? Hence why I resort to Node2D, which is just an extension of Canvas Layer anyway.

I guess Im just confused why you would use node2d over control.

Ah I see, there isn't much in it. I personally assumed, but need to check this out now, that the control Node, which inherits from Canvas, is going to be heavier than Node2D (which also inherits direct from it), because of all the extra input handling. I ideally want to use the Canvas, but as stated, that doesn't have the visibility option.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53622.13
ETH 2208.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29