Re-evaluating Yorùbá language translation on Busy.orgsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

Introduction



Utopian.io is a platform that enables users to have a say in Open Source projects. An example is Busy.org. [Source]


New version of Busy is in Private Beta and need testers!
https://steemit.com/busy/@busy.org/busy-org-new-design-call-for-private-beta-testers



I am posting this article from Utopian.io

The development of a website like busy.org is a good initiative so far. Taking it further, they are accommodating lots of languages from different parts of the world.

The call for translations and beta tester is found here
https://steemit.com/busy/@busy.org/busy-new-design-and-multilanguage-call-for-translators


I stumbled upon this translation service through a post by @valchiz where he translated the words suggestions by Busy.org through crowdin.com to Yorùbá language.

I really have to say he did an excellent job. This is something that cannot be done in a single day and at a stretch.


My observations:



Going through the translations, I really enjoyed them, However, I saw some words that could be easily improved upon.

In Yorùbá language, one thing is very important,

"Accents"

We have three types of accents in Yorùbá language

1). "re" with sign "~" although it is mostly not put on any word.

2). "mi" with sign "´"

3). "do" with sign "`".

Also, the vowels have multiple few alphabets.

In approving the translation of the Yorùbá words of the Busy.org, I discovered a lacuna that I can easily fill and that is the accents.

See
https://crowdin.com/translate/busy/13/en-yo


My contributions



After going through the translations one by one, I had a chat with @fabien and told him I could improve and approve some of the already translated words. He responded that I could give suggestions.

This gave me the right mindset to contribute my suggestions to the Yorùbá words.



The words suggestions had 4 pages, I started with Page 1 and finished approving and improving all the word there.

Note: I change many of them, this is because I had to put accents on it

Reason: In Yorùbá language thesame word written in thesame way can mean several things. But we can only differentiate them with accents

Example:

Yorùbá wordsMeaning
ÒgúnGod of thunder
OgunProblem
OgùnMedicine/Charm


Looking at this example, there is a need to improve those words with accents.



This I have done for page 1.



I wish to check the others soon



image.png



In the images there are The original suggestions and my own suggestions with accents



image.png



image.png



image.png



My measure of activity



image.png



Conclusion

Busy.org is a great website that is going to serve all steemians in the best experience so far. I really enjoyed Utopian.io. I will use them in doing my posts.

To know more Please read @elear post here

https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@elear/contribute-to-busy-org-and-get-double-rewards

Thanks

Sort:  

@utopian-io has just super-voted this contribution.

@turpsy thanks for using https://utopian.io to contribute to the Open Source projects..

Voting this comment will help @utopian-io growing its power so to incentivise more contributions to Open Source projects.

Eleyi dara. Omo Yoruba ponbele ni mi, mo si gboju gboya lati soo.

That's a good job sir

@turpsy, Ise nla lo se nibeyen o. Mo si nife si bi ose se atupale re lekun rere.

Hahaha, thank you @lemmybe. i appreciate.

You are welcome, my friend.

Congratulations @turpsy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60600.18
ETH 2606.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62