Steem Meet-up/Presentation in a Dark Forest

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

68145_M.jpg

You probably may have seen a lot of Steem Presentations and Meet-ups but I bet you've never seen a Steem Presentation in a Forest at night.

The Invitation


It all started when I was contacted by my Crypto-friend Munachi about a meet-up he was organizing at the University of Ibadan Botanical Garden. Munachi is a member of the Cryptographic Development Initiative of Nigeria. He asked if I could come and make a presentation on Steem and Steemit to the students and without hesitation I accepted his invitation. It is not unusual for me to receive invitations to make presentations about Steemit these days. As an ambassador of the Steem blockchain I work round the clock promoting Steemit and teaching people about the opportunities that is in this blockchain. The Meet-up was scheduled to hold on Saturday 9th of December 2017 by 4:00pm. It was not intended to be a night meet-up and it was held at the Botanical Garden of the University of Ibadan. I consider that place to be a forest. It has a vast diversity of plant-life.

The Delay


4:00pm on Saturday I called Munachi to inform him that I would be at least an hour late because I was stuck in another engagement. An hour later I was still not free to leave, I called Munachi again and told him that I'll be terribly late. I finally got on the road by 7:00pm and once again there was another hurdle-TRAFFIC.

By the time I got to the venue for the meet-up it was already late and some people were leaving. It was over! But I didn't give up. I convinced Munachi to give me just ten minutes. I thought to my self, how do I get these students to register on Steemit right away? giving them a holistic description would be a very terrible idea.

They were talking about bubbles when I got in and most of them were concerned about the price of bitcoin. I decided to start from their point of interest.

Firstly I encouraged the students to forget about price and charts and look at the actual real world use case of the blockchain. Most cryptocurrencies are in a bubble right now because they are useless they are just speculative tools. I told them that steem is better because it has real world usage and application.

I encouraged them and then I started my 10minutes power presentation on Steem and Steemit in the dark. I felt like "batman" lol.

The Presentation


After my 10minutes presentation with no visual aids or fancy slides, just my passionate voice peering through the darkness I got all of them to register on Steemit.


Video of Steem Presentation

The Result


These are the usernames of the registered members.

@sparrow03
@morayho
@niyinails
@bundayy
@dominicohai
@phartkhay

100% Success

Beyond this number of crypto-enthusiasts (who are young and adventurous) that I have brought to this blockchain, I have created an endless ripple effect in the University. I say this because they have shown the greatest level of enthusiasm so far. I observed this by their interaction on Whatsapp.

This is part of my commitment to building a vibrant community of Steemians in Ibadan, and in the University of Benin, this is part of my commitment to @stach and #project20millionnaija and most importantly this is my way of creating visibility for the Steem blockchain as a Steem Ambassador. Where there is darkness I will shine the light.

IMG-20171210-WA0014.jpg
@akintunde (a steemian, the guy on yellow ankara) was also at the meet-up.

Thank you!


Online Promotion

Links

The meet-up was promoted online via facebook, twitter etc.
  • This is the link to the eventbrite page for this event.

    Event brite



  • This is the link to the whatsapp group where I encourage and teach the newbies to use steemit.

    Whatsapp Group


Screenshots


IMG_20171212_113030.jpg
Over 150 likes on a promotional post on my fb page



IMG_20171212_113055.jpg
109 members in our Ibadan Steem Whatsapp Community





Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Welldone @tojukaka. You know you are an inspiration to many steemians...so you being a boss is no longer in question.

Keep spreading the message of Steemit Gospel. The Goodnews is here people...

See you in Warri, Delta State bro...

Cheers!

#AIR-CLINIC

Thank you sir

@tojukaka, you are really the boss. Good presentation, even as its dark there.

Boss @tojukaka you are moving mountains oh.
I admire your resilience, and I just learnt that nothing can stop me from realizing my dreams on steemit. Not even my daily hustle

This is amazing @tojukaka watch out for me next year. We will take steemit to every corner in Nigeria. Good job.

Hi @tojukaka
I don arrive gidigbamly to seal the deal, with my tiny upvote. @tojukaka don ascertain you to get the koko. (Yes, you have been seen and acknowledge by a human, to possess attributes of talent!)

Shey e matter, if periwinkle butt na your thing or whether you drink 'garri and garri' as in, 'soaked garri' and 'dry garri' as support (when there is no kuli kuli). Shey e matter?

Or whether you like your nkwobi in an actual giant-size mortar or you like ogunfe without ewedu. Shey e matter?

Shey e matter if you like to mix your alomo with gulder & shekpe? (Don't get drunk)

#untalented family, there is no longer need to stress. Wetin matter be say:

'Jehovah made you in his image' and these words have weight and occupy space: 'heavy matter'.
So join in, me on the steemgigs community (https://discord.gg/7UUQeJX) on discord. Hang out there, till we get fully functional.
'These are the best times on steemit and its yours'.
If you have an expertise, before the interface is full-blown, hone and offer in under #steemgigs.
If you want to tap into yourself in newer untold ways, express your awesomeness freely under #untalented.
'I tell you, give yourself a chance and see if we will not push and displace mount Kilimanjaro by 20km at 20km/hr' (signed @surpassinggoogle)

We aim to create historical moments in the genre of touching lives and you can support us if you desire, by voting on 'steemgigs' for witness. Simply click here (https://steemit.com/~witnesses) and type 'steemgigs' in the first search box.

Just incase you find any level or form of gifts, talents, attempts at out-of-the-boxness or any steemian low in confidence about their abilities, worth, etc; please don't let it slip emptily by!
Kindly call on me! Simply reply to any such post and add @steem-untalented or '#untalented family' to your reply and i will be there to upvote, acknowledge, strengthen and encourage them.
Learn More! (https://steemit.com/steemit/@surpassinggoogle/steemit-s-untalented-is-in-beta-participate-freely-because-every-participant-in-this-contest-will-win-something-no-losers)

Nice job @tojukaka, you are a real steemit evangelist. Lol

Thank you for Using #promo-steem tag, Promote steemit by inviting your friends and your family!

Your contribution cannot be approved because it does not follow the Utopian Rules.

Hi @tojukaka

The rules for a Visibility contribution include:

  • This category is meant only for providing results of online social engagement, adv and similar for an Open Source project.

I can see you have links to online engagement but cannot load the Facebook page.

  • If your effort brought 0 or very little new users/contributors to the Open Source project you are invited to not write about it.

I have checked the accounts listed, and can see only 5 are registered, with 3 blogging thus far.

Unfortunately, this is not considered enough engagement and have checked with a supervisor to confirm this to be the case.

Please continue your work, and when the user-base that you have introduced has grown, and you have a solid amount of online engagement, post the results again.

Thanks

@abh12345

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59993.26
ETH 2312.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49