The Present Value of an Active Life

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Today I’d like to propose some back-of-an-envelope math in the spirit of Freakonomics. How much more valuable does Actifit make an active lifestyle? Previous posts of mine have considered the open source Actifit Fitness Tracker from the perspectives of user experience and technical improvement. This is just a bit of fun from another angle.

active-adult-athlete-863977 - Edited.jpg
Photo by bruce mars from Pexels

Living a non-sedentary lifestyle can pay a broad spectrum of intangible dividends. Active folks may benefit from longer lifespans and natural highs as well as improved quality of life overall. In many ways fitness activity is its own reward. And yet @Actifit proposes to further incentivize our exercise undertakings with cryptocurrency rewards.

Cool―I’ll take it.

There are in fact two cryptocurrency rewards for using Actifit right now, AFIT tokens and upvotes on the Steem blockchain. I will only consider the latter in the calulations below. As for AFIT’s I expect they’ll be worth something soon. I hope they’ll be worth a whole lot. I don’t count on them being worth anything, except maybe bragging rights at the gym.

adult-arm-art-326559 - Edited.jpg
CC0 from Pixabay

On the other hand the Steem rewards are concrete and immediate. Personally I’m long on Steem. But even for those who are not there’s no denying that a Steem upvote can be cashed out within a week.

There are many valuations that can be made for Steem. For convenience I am going to treat the estimates shown on Steemit as real values in U.S. dollars. This would be a terrible assumption to make if large amounts were at stake. But here we are discussing pennies and only trying to get a rough idea for sake of comparison.

I’m also going to ignore the difference between liquid payouts and Steem Power (as I said, I’m long on Steem). Likewise I’ll consider the curation portion to be mine too, though in the sense of it being my “gift” to the curators and broader Actifit community.

Object to this methodology all you want. You’d be fully justified. Ultimately, it’s just no more than my fancy rationalization for keeping the arithmetic simple.

Measured this way my most recent thirteen Actifit posts average a reward of $0.28. Those are spread out over 25 days. I sometimes run into obstacles posting. Or I simply forget. So, my daily average is closer to $0.15 per post.

accounting-blur-budget-128867 - Edited.jpg

CC0 from Pixabay

This may seem like a small amount, but keep in mind this is real money awarded for things I was mostly going to do anyway. Besides, I’m the kinda guy who still bends down to nab lost change on the sidewalk. The Actifit rewards add up too―$55.00 annually. To earn that much from my money market account I’d need to deposit an additional $2,750.00.

So, there you have it. In exchange for investing a little time and effort in using the tracking software, Actifit has made me almost three thousand dollars richer. If I could become more consistent about posting my activity points daily the same level of activity would be worth about the same as $5,000.00 in the bank.

That's how it works out for me. Let me know in the comments if you would approach this question differently.


Links
Github Account

https://github.com/tdreid
@tdre on the Steem blockchain

Sort:  

This was a fun little post. I wish there was... more of it, mostly. This is one of the rare cases where I actually hoped for more math. That never happens. Making it specifically about your earnings makes the data extremely anecdotal, which is not very valuable.

On the style and grammar side... guess what? Still needs more commas. I appreciate the shorter sentences, but some of them still need commas.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your review, @didic! Keep up the good work!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by tdre from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @tdre! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 1000
You published more than 70 posts. Your next target is to reach 80 posts.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I enjoyed this article! There are all kinds of good reasons to be involved both in @actifit and Steem in general. Like you said, just extra bonuses for doing something you'd probably be doing anyway. Although I have to say, the @actifit app and the community have motivated me to really increase my activity, and not for just monetary reasons - my competitive gene makes it actually fun!

Thanks @blueeyes8960 I'm glad you enjoyed the post. I agree. Actifit has been a fun source of motivation. I look forward to the program growing and improving.

Hi @tdre!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @tdre!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79