Added to Steemsnippets: How to get latest posts

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Steemsnippets is a sweet little library on Github maintained by @howo with easy to follow, tightly focused examples of core tasks on the STEEM blockchain. The idea is to help developers quickly grasp the essential tasks of posting, voting, querying, etc. This in turn accelerates programmers getting on with contributing their own cool new features.

Steemsnippets definitely helped me when I started creating a suite of personal tools for Steemit and I wanted to give back in appreciation for the trailblazing done so far.

So here's my snippet...

Added Snippet:

get_new_posts (steemjs)

This function allows you to get the latest n posts either for a specific tag or overall.

As far as I know it is also the first fully documented example of how to use the query object to limit and select posts in steemjs—a question which has been asked several times on Github and around the web.

commits:
image.png



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Your contribution cannot be approved because it does not follow the Utopian Rules.

Hi, the code project you are contributing to Steemsnippets is more like a handy collection of scripts, as the project description says "This is a collection of various snippets for steem." Therefore, IMHO, this type of code projects can't be accepted as utopian development based on this rule:
Simple and common code snippets that can be easily found or reproduced can't be submitted in the development category.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hi, @justyy I appreciate your comment.

I think the distinction here is that snippets for Steem are not yet common, nor the steemjs api so accessible and well understood that a developer new to the space can handily (re)produce them.

Some of this is covered in the maintainer’s post discussing the inspiration for the collection. It is also born out somewhat in that prior contributions to this collection of snippets similar in length and simplicity to mine have been approved for utopian:

here

And also...

here

I’m about to turn in for the day, but if further discussion is required I’ll drop by Discord tomorrow.

Thanks for being a moderator.

Thanks for your comment.
Regardless the project itself (still questionable to me), I did check previous accepted contributions but they were both containing 3 snippets but yours is too short.
I have also asked the opinions from my supervisor @mkt and I believe this is the final decision. Sorry.

I see. Thanks for getting back to me.

Hehe. @OriginalWorks hasn’t posted a comment in six days and there is a note on its profile about work in progress—so I guess it’s offline. Thanks for the call anyway :)

Ah, bummer. Perhaps another time then =)

@OriginalWorks get well sssooooon. We misssesssss you we doessssss. <3

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

@almost-digital Yep, thanks for the upvote. 👍

Earlier today I defended my work to the last breath as it were—that is a brief exchange with the u-io mods exhausted my bandwidth while it was scarce. lol, oh well.

So, @jjay was kind enough to act as my proxy for then. But now—as my bandwidth has recovered some—I'm able to say #thanks directly.

I won't deny I'm disappointed that the moderators deemed this particular contribution too small to approve. I suppose in the larger scheme of things that's nbd.

For my part this was mainly a testing of the waters to see how the Utopian.io process worked. Indeed, I came across several things that I believe can be improved so just stepping into the process has revealed new opportunities as expected.

Now it's onward and upward.

Thanks again 🎩

@almost-digital Thanks for your support of this bit o work :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by tdreid from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67160.08
ETH 3517.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70