UI Resteem suggestions

in #utopian-io7 years ago

A lot of the suggestions I put forward are for UI changes that look to affect behaviours and nudge them this way or that depending on the requirements. Sometimes it is to encourage actions, sometimes deter.

I do not resteem often and a large part of this is because of two main reason that seem relatively easy to fix.

1. It is difficult to differentiate my content from a resteem quickly
2. I cannot add any information to clarify why I am resteeming

Detail:

(1) The reason this is an issue is that I personally do not like scrolling through resteems to find a blog's original content. I think this is detrimental for the blog so do not want to clutter mine similarly. A rudimentary solution is shown in the image below. There should also be a filter option of course to filter out resteems but differentiation means filtering need not be automatic giving discovery of new content providers a better chance.

(2) Secondly (again in the picture), having the possibility to add a small comment to briefly explain why I am resteeming ups the chances of me doing it. The reason is that I want to be able to provide my audience with clarification and I think this helps the chances of them actually reading it. It could also be used for Public Service announcement type comments as warnings. I see this as a limited character, basic text field so that it doesn't require a scroll.

Lastly, it would be nice to have a resteem counter and perhaps a 'who has resteemed' dropdown similar to who has voted. It might also be a good idea to have resteems trigger some type of mention/notification (not that they often work now) but in that way it allows the author to see how their work is engaging with the audience.

I think that a few little tweaks would provide various advantages to interaction and engagement which are beneficial to the building of the network. Of course, the appearance of these is in the image are only representative of the changes suggested.

Taraz
[ an Original for Utopian.io ]



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  
Loading...

I see it the same way. And also for the same reasons I am resteeming rarely.
Also because I think the design will destroy my overall Blog appearance​.
Could sound a bit funny ​ but for me its important :D

For me too. I think when viewing a blog, there should be the option to only see see original content (hide resteemed posts).

Also the option to un-resteem a post later would be nice.

I like both of those suggestions. Maybe there should be a separate tab on our pages for resteemed posts.

I am new to the steem community but I see and understand your point. Therefore I as well will not resteem either. I cannot believe how well the msm has kept this site hidden. This site makes YouTube and Facebook look like Obamacare(useless and not worth the money)!

Well resteeming my post will not destroy anyone's Blog appearance. So, feel free to resteem my posts... ;)

You are right. I am also think that resteeming will distroy our appearance of Blog page. Hence I resteemed only few post that I like most. It's important for me. Good post.

please check this out specially if u ever eat sausages, burgers or eat in "lovely" mcdonalds, dont show to little ones, craziest admitments from their own mouths, please subscribe if u like to see more truth expose vids, thank you for following, i followed u too bud

every single person should see, these are the biggest admitments i have ever heard , specially if u eat sausages, burgers or in mcdonalds, u need to see, share with your loved ones, please dont show to little ones, jew admits doing bad bad things to our children and i mean, its for real, u be the judge

YES! I wish we could add a comment when we resteem like we can on Twitter. Even a short comment about why we find the post valuable would be helpful. Thanks for posting this, and I'm sorry I got to it late.

Great idea I made a similar contribution before

I missed it sorry mate :)

every single person should see, these are the biggest admitments i have ever heard , specially if u eat sausages, burgers or in mcdonalds, u need to see, share with your loved ones, please dont show to little ones, jew admits doing bad bad things to our children and i mean, its for real, u be the judge

I agree with you. I stopped resteeming because of this. When I retweet something on Twitter, I'm able to add my own text to give context to why I'm retweeting it.

It should work the same way on Steemit.

I agree. A filter to the blogpage where you can toggle resteems on and off so you can only view that person's own posts would be handy. I like the idea of being able to add the reason of why you are resteeming it. With a bar next to it like on your image would make a resteem more visible right away too.

I think being able to 'comment' on why the resteem gives some perspective and adds to the narrative. Sort of prepares an audience for what they may find making it easier to click on.

if any of ya ever et in mcdonalds, please check this out, elite admits crazy sh*t

Busy used to split them (there was a separate tab for reblogs) but they don't anymore. Not sure why they ditched a lot of their really good ideas (another one was starring people and tags you were particularly interested in).

The number of resteems would be nice to know, and I think the option to explain or otherwise make a comment would be really useful and possibly encourage resteems (and be like those two other major socnets XD).

goatsig

It would also be handy to a have a 'read later' option too for the feeds. So often I am scrolling and find something I want to read but can't at the time. My memory isn't good enough and bookmarking pages is a pain imo :)

I tend to open a million tabs XD "Read later" would be much more useful for when that's not an option!

goatsig

please give me upvote ragular bro

It is great idea with comments, the other suggest is separate tab for resteemed content.

please give me upvote ragular bro

Completely agree. I've had people resteem some of my work and I had no idea until I saw it in one of those 3rd party tools days later.

please give me upvote ragular bro

I this is great
A quick info why resteem
And at least it differentiate with my post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61159.70
ETH 2631.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63