Sort:  

The extension uses both whitelist and blacklist and both have their own pros and cons.
I can only validate a whitelisted website and if you accidentally go to a scam website I cannot determine if it is a non steemit related site or a scam site and cannot flag it.

So here is the current logic:

  • if the current website is in the whitelist, the icon turns green. I will add a drop-down panel saying "This is a friendly Steemit website" soon.
  • if the current website is in the blacklist, I show a full page warning and the icon is red.
  • if the current website is neither then the icon is grey

Neither blacklist or whitelist is enough on its own. Even combined together there are still cases I cannot handle. So a combo is always a bit better.

Nice idea. I had tried to make chrome extension before, but using DOM manipulation method document.querySelector() but it didnt work well with Single App Application like React. Didn't spend much time on it, might read thru your source code later.

Yea... I had to investigate on the dynamic content and use the MutationObserver to detect when a content has been dynamically injected into the page

If you find any ideas or optimization, let me know or make a PR

alright sure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39