Sort:  

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

I also have created a Steemit Phishing Link Cheker which does not have whitelisted or blacklisted website because its hard to update everytime any new fraud websites comes. What I have done is everytime you click on link in Steemit it says that you will be redirected to external website, do not use Steemit Password there.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

I checked your extension, I like the MEMO scanning feature.
My extension does the similar thing to yours (marking external links) but I thought whitelisting could be more effective but yes more difficult to maintain. But the idea is to try to also protect users that are on Busy.org or another official site or even if they do a google search and land on the scam site. At least if the extension recognizes it it will warn the user. Won't be perfect but one less victim is still worth it.

Hey @quochuy I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • This is your first accepted contribution here in Utopian. Welcome!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

wow, amazing!
Thanks for the help and support you guys are bringing to the community.

A great post Huy, The name that you gave the app though, is Gold!
Peace.

Could not help myself with that name hahaha

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by quochuy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Instead of creating a blacklist, create a whitelist is easier 😃

The extension uses both whitelist and blacklist and both have their own pros and cons.
I can only validate a whitelisted website and if you accidentally go to a scam website I cannot determine if it is a non steemit related site or a scam site and cannot flag it.

So here is the current logic:

  • if the current website is in the whitelist, the icon turns green. I will add a drop-down panel saying "This is a friendly Steemit website" soon.
  • if the current website is in the blacklist, I show a full page warning and the icon is red.
  • if the current website is neither then the icon is grey

Neither blacklist or whitelist is enough on its own. Even combined together there are still cases I cannot handle. So a combo is always a bit better.

Nice idea. I had tried to make chrome extension before, but using DOM manipulation method document.querySelector() but it didnt work well with Single App Application like React. Didn't spend much time on it, might read thru your source code later.

Yea... I had to investigate on the dynamic content and use the MutationObserver to detect when a content has been dynamically injected into the page

If you find any ideas or optimization, let me know or make a PR

alright sure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51