The Utopian Update Deleted my Draft

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

ISSUE:

A draft was deleted after utopian.io rolled out an update.

SUMMARY

I was working on a submission directly in the Utopian platform when suddenly the site stopped responding. I thought it was my internet connection at first so I waited for a couple of minutes.
And since I like how utopian is handling drafts and knew that it is reliable, I finally clicked the refresh button.

To my surprise, the updates that @elear posted earlier were rolled out and new categories are added.


image.png

But a bigger surprise is waiting:


image.png

My draft is gone. I asked about it in discord and @elear quickly responded.

I did not really lost a lot, Basically my draft is just screenshots that I uploaded using my desktop and I planned to finish the post using my phone.

But still, I believe things like this should be taken into consideration especially when major updates are being done. Luckily for me, I have an earlier version of my post in my Google Docs.

But still, this is a lesson learned the hard way.

SOLUTION

@eastmael would try to restore the draft from steemconnect.
Also, I would like to suggest that users and dev should make a backup of everything before doing an update. An announcement should be also be made regarding the exact time of update or any major activity. It would also be wise to take down the site temporarily until the update is done.



Open Source Contribution posted via Utopian.io

Sort:  

Thank you for raising this @st3llar. It's a learning experience for me. When rolling out new features, it's important that there should a way for any data saved by the user on the old system can still be accessed.

Thank you for your understanding and sorry for the trouble this caused.

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you!

Hey @st3llar I am @utopian-io. I have just super-voted you at 9% Power!

Suggestions https://utopian.io/rules

  • Your contribution is less informative than others in this category.
  • Utopian has detected 4 bot votes. I am the only bot you should love!!

Achievements

  • I am a bot...I need someone spotting my bugs!
  • Votes on this contribution are going well. Nice!
  • You are having more votes than average for this category. Nice!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!
  • You have a good amount of votes on your contributions. Good job!
  • In total you have more votes than average for this category. Bravo!
  • You have just unlocked 6 achievements. Yeah!
    Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50