Offering "Intro" Read With Pop Up Would Grow Steemit Membership

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

This is a suggestion to improve on the Steemit sign-up screen. Steemit Inc. is very generous to allow non-members to enjoy casual reading without making a commitment as a member. Recently, I came across an archived post with over 5K views; and, only 18 votes; thus, the impetus for this post.

To help Steemit grow, I suggest that non-users be given a tease-read; instead of the full post. After the first few lines, or seconds on a post, I recommend a popup politely saying:

The benefits of having this notification would nudge ‘timid’ bloggers, to sign up and become an integral part of building the Steem platforms. This encouraging popup would help resolve the 5K views, with only 18 votes, earning less than $3 as shown below:

In summary, having a popup would encourage users to join; and help curtail non-users freely receiving information without contributing anything to the STEEM community overall.

That’s it.

Peace.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

I think it might make more sense to allow visitors access to only last six days, but allow voting of members in the archives. Many pieces I've found in archives that were very useful and worth my vote, plankton or not. I'm very new to computers in general, but except for robots such as @cheetah I cannot see how even whales can have viewed every post that's put up daily or even within six days. I have trouble viewing just those fifty I follow as often as I would wish. The advice we newbies are given is to vote 10-15 times per day, but this is very difficult to do. Adding up the posts, which have to be found, read and worthy, and adding to them the replies and comments and replies to replies, and even 15 Votes is a great many. As our company expand exponentially, the points you raised of Views / votes becomes more widely problematical. If visitors were limited to just 48hrs of posts, and members could vote on up to a month's or all archives, then the value of the archival info would increase and the Want to join of outsiders would as well, without introducing such 'turn-offs' as pop-ups. There should be nil advertising. If you want to use your bandwidth to post ads for your likes and dislikes, that is entirely your $, but there is absolutely no need to decrease quality, just to increase quantity.

I cannot see how even whales can have viewed every post

Most whales have auto-voting bots. I used to think this was a negative, until I realized how impossible it would be to keep up with hundreds of replies. Also, whales are known to have other projects going on behind the scenes; and, depending on, have very little time to actually read posts. What they end up doing is selecting 'reliable' authors who put out pretty decent work; and, set their upvote at a percentage, letting the bots do most of the work. This makes a lot of sense. They use their voting power; but, in many cases have the external tool to do so for them.

allow visitors access to only last six days,

I like this idea, also. I primarily created this suggestion to call attention to the need for a solution to this obvious dilemma.

Best regards!

Peace.

Hello spiritualmatters!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Hello spiritualmatters!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

IMO, this kind of thing turns off more users than it entices.

For instance, pinterest is one of my most hated sites for doing what you suggest. They let you see a few images then pop up a semi-transparent panel saying "to see more become a registered member".

Yes, I could sign up for yet another account to a service I don't want to use, but instead I simply refuse to click on a link to pinterest, because I know I'm in for a bait and switch.

Let's help Steemit make the internet MORE free, and not contribute to the trend of pop ups, banners and other marketing bullshit.

I don't want to use

To be on a site means you want to 'use' it on some level...Right?

MORE free

NOTHING is really free. That's the problem with today's economy...FREE.

I respect your perspective; but, I believe it increases value to have commitment; be it in life and/or social media. I get it. I hate having to sign in to use Pinterest. That's why I don't use it often.

The goal of Steemians is to increase quality bloggers/vloggers who are passionate about working to make it competitive...to make it grow.

In all honesty, if someone wants a 'free' platform, there's FB, and others. Oh, my bad...I can't use FB without signing up....I hate that; which is why I don't do FB unless I have to.

On the other hand, I don't mind one iota having to sign in to Steemit EVERY day; thus, my belief that having the pop up would encourage 'serious' people wanting to earn while adding to the platform, in a way that will attract investors, is crucial for preventing huge discrepancies in ?people who are all about the FREE; and never the tip.

bait and switch

Imo, Steemit has been anything but this. Never in my years of blogging have I grown zero wealth into what's in my Wallet as we speak, with a huge blessing to invest without coming out of pocket. Btw, what you see is a percentage of what it was a few short weeks ago, when SBD topped ~$15. All praises to God.

Perhaps, you should research a few more testimonials. I know you're new; but, with quality work; and a passion for creating, you might find you have a different perspective later on.

Best regards.

Peace.

I didn't say Steemit is a bait and switch, nor did I say I don't want to use it. Please don't quote me out of context.

I said it WOULD be a bait and switch if you showed them a teaser of an article and forced them to log in for the rest, especially if the article was indexed by google.

And I said I don't want to use pinterest. This is because I use google images and very often an image from pinterest is indexed there and is indistinguishable from the others. Pinterest then forces a redirect and tried to urge you to sign up.

Such tactics are insidious and if Steemit ever did anything like that, I'd think twice about supporting it.

Besides all that, there would be no benefit in having lurkers sign up -- they would have no steem power and their upvotes would be meaningless. If they want to MAKE crypto by blogging, they will be motivated without popups.

The system is designed to encourage interaction and community. Lurkers have no value, so why not let them have the content for free? At least it brings them to the site and makes them aware of it.

They may one day become converts and start interacting, so there is really no downside unless you get precious about copyright and intellectual property.

Interesting observations.

Peace.

Your contribution cannot be approved because it does not follow the Utopian Rules.

  • The Steemit platform was built specifically that way.
  • Your reason, however noble it might be ain't cogent or valid enough.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

ain't

No offense; but, this severely lacks professionalism. Stay mindful that you are a reflection of utopian.io; and, not just hanging out with your pals.

Peace.

What are you trying to say, dude? What professionalism does it lacks?

#Peace

ain't

You're obviously very intelligent. But, I hope this helps ;+).

Peace.

I have wondered about this same phenomenon and I like the idea you present here. I have also read some of the responses and realize there is no easy answer. On one hand, yes it would be great to have a way to capture non-member participation; however, Steemit mimics the majority of other blogging platforms. In the end, I am going to be working on content to encourage non-members to join.

Thanks for starting a stimulating conversation!

  • Kareen

Steemit mimics the majority of other blogging platforms.

This is good to know. Many bemoan to the wind (lol) for changes to occur; but, it seems no one is listening. I always muse that this is a decentralized experiment run by AI (lol).

working on content to encourage non-members to join

Not to be negative (lol); but, save your energy...It would be easier to buy a Steem iron-on logo and affix to matching t-shirts for the family.

I always encourage people to be walking advertisers for STEEM. That said, I just made another note-to-self...to do the same. ;+)! Of course, it would be a lot easier to remember, if they took me up on the suggestion to pay a SP bonus for referrals. Again, talking to the wind...AI....lol.

Best regards!

Peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61733.68
ETH 2481.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63