Request for improvement of Feeds on SteemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #utopian-io7 years ago

Hello Fellow Steemians,

It has been an exciting week for me contributing on utopian.io. For those of you who do not know, Utopian.io is a revolutionary platform that rewards you with upvotes from Utopian Bot and brings your work in front of the awesome members of Utopian community.

With the advent of visionary projects like utopian.io, I am super excited about the direction steem blockchain has taken. I believe it to be the logical step forward in the evolutionary journey of our favorite blockchain.

My Splendid Utopian Journey

As always, I share with you completely my contributions and earnings from my past contributions on utopian.io. I do this to spread awareness among fellow Streemians who are yet to join the awesome Utopian bandwagon.

No. of posts: 7
Total awards: $70.65

I have had the opportunity to write about my ideas about open source software like Steemit and Utopian.io. In future, I am want to write about Busy.org which is another excellent platform in making.

This post itself is my contribution on Utopian.io for requesting new features in steemit.com.

How steemit feed looks right now:

Steemit feed is available on five pages named: New, Hot, Promoted, Trending and People I follow.

The problem with my Homepage

  1. The first feed I get is People I follow feed.
    Screen Shot 2017-10-28 at 12.48.49 PM.png

    There is no order in this feed. It is a cocktail of Chinese, English, Technology, and Photography.

    To bring some order, I could view feed belonging to a particular tag. This is how my feed filtered for Life tag looks like.
    Screen Shot 2017-10-29 at 7.18.07 PM.png

    That certainly is some improvement over the original chaotic feed. Sure, I could also mute the people whose feed I don't like. However, what I would really love is a Homepage where I would feel at home! How would the ideal homepage look like? We will find out in a short while !!

  2. Pople, I follow looks like "People | Follow". It breaks my flow. I feel like choosing between People or Follow!

  3. I don't like the hassle of going to different tags of my interest and scour for interesting posts. It is too much work and waste of my time. I would like to read about only the topics or tags which interest me.

  4. The other feeds are even more tasteless. 90% of content on New Tab is spammy. Difference between Trending and Hot Tabs was a puzzle for me for a month until I stumbled upon this link. Why two different tabs for Trending and Hot are needed is still a mystery to me.

  5. As absurd it may sound, the promoted tab is my favorite tab! For me, it is the only tab with some real information!

The Solution

  1. The home or My feed is named as People I follow. This needs to be changed to My feeds or My Home.

  2. On the left side of any feeds page, a list of 50 tags is displayed. I don't anybody ever checks out more than 6-7 top tags. Hence, only top 7 tags should be displayed and an option for more tags should be provided below them. Also, an option called Favorite Tags should be present at the top of the tags list. This favorite tags option should be user customizable and provide a user option of selecting up to ten of their favorite tags. The new tags panel would look something like this:

    Screen Shot 2017-10-30 at 3.34.26 PM.png

  3. There should be only Two tabs. Frankly, I don't think it is a good design decision having so many tabs.

    • The First tab should be named My feeds which would show posts from people whom I follow along with some top posts from people followed by people whom I follow. This will be one similar line to facebook where we can see posts from friends of friends.

    • The Second Tab should be named Explore, which would have a combination of feeds from Hot, Promoted and Trending, from only those tags which I choose. In a similar manner to Reddit and Google, one promoted post can be clipped at the top. This clipped post can be different for different people based on their chosen favorite tags. It can refresh with every page refresh.

    Promoted story clipped at top: Reddit
    Screen Shot 2017-10-30 at 2.16.40 PM.png

    Promoted story clipped at top: Google
    Screen Shot 2017-10-30 at 2.17.51 PM.png

Do you love the features I suggested? Tell me in the comments sections below !!

I really believe these features if implemented would increase user engagement and lead to the growth of the steemit community. Steemit would become more intuitive and its design would drastically improve.

I also believe utopian.io has its part to play in the future of web development. Let's all make an effort to give something back to the community. Delegate some of your steem power to the Utopian Bot so that utopian.io would continue rewarding open source contributions !!

Read this article for deligating steem power to Utopian Bot

Upvote, Comment and Follow !!


Open Source Contribution posted via https://utopian.io

Sort:  

Hey @shreyasgune I am @utopian-io. I have just super-voted you at 79% Power!

Achievements

-Good amount of information. Thank you!
-A very informative contribution. Good job!
-You have less than 250 followers. Just gave you a gift ;)
-Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!
-You have a good amount of votes on your contributions. Good job!
-In total you have more votes than average for this category. Bravo!
-You have just unlocked 6 achievements. Yeah!
Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one.

Nice contribution
Approved
[utopian-moderator]

Also needs a bookmark possibility for later reading. Now a post may be hard to find again....

Totally agree.

I would like to be able to customize / sort the feed by:

  • post time
  • reputation of author
  • payouts
  • number of comments
  • tags

(and yes, Ideally I'd like to be able to make any combination of these 5 criteria and sort by of one these criteria. This would help discovering stuff on the platform much more do-able, and I think for curators it would be a real blessing)

You are absolutely right. We can have anadvanced tags option where such options are readily available.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68228.03
ETH 2645.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69