Mil-Mi-6PS Development for FlightGear

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

Introduction

FlightGear is an open source flight simulator that is even used in flight schools to train basic maneuvers, radio communication and navigation tasks. It is available for windows, mac and linux.

In this article I want to introduce my development of Mil-Mi-6PS.

tfgfs-screen-031k.png

Characteristics

  • Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mil_Mi-6
  • Russian made Helicopter. First flight in 1957.
  • Main Rotor diameter: 35 m (114 ft 10 in)
  • Tail Rotor diameter: 6 m 30 cm
  • Fuselage length: 33 m 18 cm (108 ft 10 in)
  • Total length: 41 m 74 cm
  • Powerplant: 2x Solowjow D-25W (gas turbine) 4101 kW each
  • MaxTakeOff 93696 lb Variant Poschar (Fire) up to 20 tons of cargo
  • Range: 620 km (385 miles) with 8000 kg payload
  • Ferry range: 1,450 km (900 miles)
  • Service ceiling: 4,500 m (14,750 ft)
  • MaxSpeed: 300 km/h (190 mph)
  • Cruise speed: 250 km/h (135 kn)

Development steps

  • Moritz Röhrich (Blender3D) started this project in 2010. I got in contact with him and take the task to work on it since then.
  • Reducing the 3D-model size
  • FDM (Flight Dynamic Model) work with help of Russian manuals to get realistic bahaivior
  • Full Instrumentation in the cockpit
  • Lots of Animations like paratroopers, elephant transport, ground effects, ambient lightning, doors
  • Firefighting variant implementation with water canon and water loading from lakes or rivers
  • Autopilot programming
  • Autoflight systems for hoovering, rescue holding in the air, start up and different flight speeds
  • Various video productions with flights uploaded on Youtube and documented on Steemit.

Link to the repository

https://github.com/HerbyW/MI-6PS

Proof of work

In my profile on Utopian.io, the github repo MI-6PS is listed in my project
page
, which is show in the screenshot as follows:

viewly80.png

The login page on github.com is shown in the following screenshot:

viewly79.png



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Hey @schamangerbert I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

well its good to see ur flighgear post but i dont find any video link to fly of this flight

Some of my productions:








the number 5 video was me! yeahhh my first trip Mayon Volcano
with you! It was a nice experience!
I'm cathing up on your blog today. I missed a lot of them:(

See you around captain
xoxo

I also have problems to catch up all comments :)

Wow nice article I enjoyed reading it looking forward to more of your posts.

sir Such a wonderful and thankful work my dear friend... Actualy....I'm always respect to your works and…

Amazing work. It is a great project. I wish you a Happy New Year and wish that all your hopes and plans come true :)

its outstanding program for aviation students, they might get help throgh this blog and information.

That looks like a beast to fly Captain! I'm sure you'd handle it like a pro.

It's very interesting project. I like it.

adf.jpg

Nice video sir.My wishes for you are not limited to just the next year. Have a
fun-filled, smashing, rocking and…

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49