Create, Snooze, And Pin Notes With P!N v1.1

in #utopian-io5 years ago (edited)

I am amazed by the way modern developers are utilizing the different libraries available to them, with their project development. These days, project owners are trying their best to make their projects respond to clicks as fast as possible, look neat, and run without hindering users from using other apps.

A few months ago, I introduced a project that displays the steps needed to use it, while I was still installing/setting up the app. I made it clear in the post that, the project has the ability to multitask without hindering me from completing what I was doing. I expressed how happy I was using such an app.

In today's blog post, I will be introducing to you a note-taking application, that has the ability to allow its users to take notes without having to launch it, or fully open its main activity. This simply means you can take notes without fully opening the app.

A developer with the Github name "nproth" developed a simple, and the smart note-taking app called p!n. Should I guess what's your mind? Are you thinking I mistyped pin as p!n?, Oh no!! I didn't. That is the name given to the project. I actually thought it was a typo from the project owner, but, I later understood the reason behind the name. I will talk more on it while I fully introduce the project in my next paragraph.

Introduction

oin.png

P!n is simply an android application for taking notes on the go. I used the sentence On The Go because, you can seamlessly take notes, pin them, and edit them without having to fully open any application.
It functions the same way as other note-taking applications in the sense that, you take notes with it, and save them.

P!n is unique with its functionalities, which is the reason why the developer decided to name it as P!n instead of the regular English word Pin.

What Makes It A Unique Note Taking App?

I will start by saying that, Its uniqueness starts with its name. The name isn't spelled as a pin. But, you will actually read it as Pin.
Secondly, unlike other Note apps, or any other android application I have ever used, while launching them, they take the entire screen. P!n is so unique in the sense that, it only requires a single portion of the entire screen. Check the picture below to see how a note taking application occupied my device's screen after I launched it. This page is where I type my notes. While I'm typing on this page, I can't do anything else except I minimize it.
aaa.png

P!n solved the issue where users need to fully open an app before using it. P!n will only take a small portion of the screen to launch. With this feature, I was able to multitask ( type notes, while using other apps).

a.png

aa.png

Additionally, I also see, and use P!n as a different app other than taking not58. The developer defined it as;

A minimalistic note-taking app for Android utilizing your phone's notification area.

This simply means that, it displays every note saved on the notification bar.
P!n has a snooze timer beside the text editor which can be used to set snoozing time. Because of this feature, I have been able to find another use case for P!n.

How did perceive P!n?

I created a short note including a line of a task, which I view anytime I swipe my notification tray down. Doing this constantly reminds me to perform the task in the note. As time goes by, I started seeing this app as a reminder, and at the same time as a flawless note taking app.

There are other Interesting features available in P!n. For example, the ability to mark a note as done, snooze(30min), edit, pin, and unpin notes.
Also, Long pressing on the snooze timer while editing, or taking a note, will automatically display all saved notes on the notification bar.

Currently, the snooze time is set to increment by 30mins. Also, the initial time to snooze a note is 30mins. The snooze values are set by default. This needs to be changed. Because, different users have their different desired time to start, or snooze a note.

Project Update

The latest version was released 18 days ago as of when I was making this post. The updated version includes these updates;

  • Make notifications persistent by long pressing 'pin'-button
  • Show hidden pins by long pressing 'timer'-button
  • Alert when notes wake up.

What is to be expected in the next update ?

The last code update was 12days ago. And, In the last project commit, I was able to see that, the project owner is implanting a RotaryControlView. This feature will allow users to change the snooze time depending on their choices, by sliding either left or right. (He's finally working on what I don't like about the project)

I was able to Fork project, and compiled it to generate an app for debugging. Here's a screenshot showing how the next version will look;

updated.png

As you can see for yourself that, the upcoming version will have a different RotaryControlView.

Don't be surprised when you see my name among the list of contributors. I might suggest a feature by implementing, and creating a PR to the master branch.

Conclusion

P!n is the simplest application I have ever used. Imagine an app that doesn't require the whole screen to function. I have used it, and it's great. You should give it try.

Sort:  

Hi, and thank you for your contribution. The P!n app looks like another decent and straightforward note-taking app. I have been searching for something similar, so I think my search is over.

As always, the post is well structured. The visuals are cool, and eye catchy. The content is unique and editorial with your experiences in it. However, the post had issues. I appreciate how you post to the category consistently, but you need to dedicate time to proofread your texts. There are unclear sentences, joined with critical omissions. I will provide a few examples.

How did perceive P!n?

That is one of the sub-headings in the post. Did you intend to write ‘How did you perceive P!n? or what'?

Should I guess what’s your mind?

'Should I guess what your mind is'? Or should I guess what is in your mind?

These are two examples from the post. There are many more. My recommendation is: Always create time to proofread your texts. Use a grammar checker before clicking on the publish button. Nevertheless, I appreciate the information provided, and I hope to receive more posts from you.

Thank you!

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your review, @tykee! Keep up the good work!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 4 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 8 SBD worth and should receive 148 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi, @rufans!

You just got a 1.51% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @rufans!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @rufans!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

!bookkeeping rufans

Please use one of the following keywords after !bookkeeping:

drugwars steemmonsters magicdice steemslotgames steembet moonsteem

!bookkeeping rufans

Please use one of the following keywords after !bookkeeping:

drugwars steemmonsters magicdice steemslotgames steembet moonsteem

!bookkeeping magicdice

Hi @rufans!

magicdice

Received:

  • 1645.578 STEEM
  • 0.000 STEEM from referral
  • 0.000 STEEM from delegation
  • 6.056 STEEM from dividends
  • 19.415 SBD
  • 0.000 SBD from referral
  • 0.000 SBD from delegation
  • 0.029 SBD from dividends

Spent:

  • 1643.110 STEEM
  • 19.875 SBD

Total:

  • 8.524 STEEM
  • -0.431 SBD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14