EOS Blog - Building my EOS node 2.x on public testnet

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Today I started to install a EOS public testnode.

DQmVjm9PALZrNqo3BXL2h7sA62WzNgojiNbEo2pPciL8EVA.gif

I followed the instructions on this page : https://github.com/EOSIO/eos#publictestnet

My server is Ubuntu 16.04 and not 16.10 as in the document. But I gave it a try.

Automated build script
For Ubuntu 16.10 and there is an automated build script that can install all dependencies and builds EOS.

Clean install Ubuntu 16.10 for the public testnet

git clone https://github.com/eosio/eos --recursive

cd eos
git checkout dawn-2.x
./build.sh ubuntu

This last step almost takes almost 2 hours.

After this installation I continued and trying to start the node:

Connecting Local EOSD node with Public Testnet
To run a local node connected to the public testnet operated by block.one, a script is provided.

cd ~/eos/build/scripts
./start_npnode.sh

This command will use the data folder provided for the instance called testnet_np.

You should see the following response:

Launched eosd.
See testnet_np/stderr.txt for eosd output.
Synching requires at least 8 minutes, depending on network conditions.

It worked, see here the output of my start command:

Now the blockchain is syncing:

I let it sync for 10 minutes.

You can check the results by using this command:

tail -F testnet_np/stderr.txt

After 90 minutes the output of my log looks like this.

YES I so Now I have a EOS node connected to the public test net.

Some test.

After the chain was running I did this test:

curl 127.0.0.1:8888/v1/chain/get_info

Up to the next self education and see what I can do with this public node. Let me know if you are interested of creating an EOS blockchain explorer or other development. I would love to work together.

Kind regards,

Ron



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

PS:

  • you originally filed this article as "development": that was the wrong category because it involves self-written code (developed by you), hosted on GitHub, labeled with an Open Source licence;
  • you were then told, by two other moderator, to move it to blog;
  • to my own perception, this should have been filed under "tutorial", because it provides step-by-step technical instructions regarding setting up and running an EOS dawn 2.x node on Ubuntu 16.x server: you would have qualified as a tutorial immediately;
  • I won't ask you to re-file it again as tutorial, because -a- you did exactly as you were told, and -b- you have received significant manual upvotes already by (.e.g) @adsactly and myself! ;-)

Approved, by @scipio

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you. this is much appreciated

I followed your instructions, and me too I have an EOS node connected to the public test net.

thank you for a well informative writeup you have made,it brings a lot to steemit,i truely appreciate your work

Thank you for the info, The purpose for the node is to mine or what?

Hey @rival I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You are generating more rewards than average for this category. Super!;)
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Suggestions

  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!

Get Noticed!

  • Did you know project owners can manually vote with their own voting power or by voting power delegated to their projects? Ask the project owner to review your contributions!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31