You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Self-votes and Self-Service vs. Spreading the Love - Analyzing Vote Diversity in Steem

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Firstly, excellent analysis...

Secondly, take heart! If you look at it the other way, then 80% of people are sharing the love, which sounds better. (It also reinforces this intuitive feeling I've got about the 80:20 rule - this ratio seems to crop up all over the place, although here it might only be an artifact of the specific bins you've created.)

Also, 20% of people being utterly socially selfish is actually half of what it is in mainstream society - at least if you look at charitable giving as an indicator of how selfless people are towards generalised others: 39% of people in the UK didn't give to charity last year - source.

Thirdly, I hope this gets utopioned,

And fourthly, but do I hope that because I've got your best interests at heart, or because I know I'm going to get a fatter pay-out for myself in terms of curation rewards...>? 'Sharing the love' isn't necessarily an indicator of a 'pure motive' either!

Very very interesting! Thought provoking...

Sort:  

Thanks @revisesociology, also for raising the view beyond Steem and into "real life". I think your points are valid, and with that in mind, it's actually not too bad here :)
Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65955.30
ETH 3276.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70