You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reputation Score 101 : What is Steemit Reputation Score, How is It Calculated and Why Should We Bother?

in #utopian-io7 years ago

Super-helpful, easy to understand, and wonderfully enlightening information, thank you!

I couldn't figure why some (seemingly) new profiles had such high rep scores and attributed this to them perhaps buying-in steem. Obviously not but possibly the voting bots have more to do with that?

Appreciate your great tutorials! :)

Sort:  

Thanks for your feedback. There are three scenarios in which a new user can have high reputation.

  1. A user posts something great, innvovative or exceptional and the community upvotes it big time. It takes just one post to reach 50-60 rep if it's voted big time with big power.

  2. A user purchases or leases SP and self votes on his/her content (posts and comments). Self voting all the time is not recommended but self voting is not a great vice. It is allowed for the reason that investors can get return on their own return. I used to be strictly against self voting on posts or comments but my opinion has evolved. I think major share of upvoting power should go to others while a nice percentage of it can be used for promoting self made content; especially if it is of good quality.

  3. Upvoting bots. Yes, they are the reason most of the times.

If a user lacks quality content but has a high reputation, chances are that he or she is using bots. Their wallets look empty but reputation is higher than the value they create. I think that should stop.

Gosh, I had no idea on those first two scenarios. I really does explain a lot of what I have been noticing though, so thank you for the very clear explanation. :)

I think, for myself I prefer 'plugging away' and letting my rep and everything evolve organically. Feels more 'earned' to me, and therefore something I can be proud of in my own way.

I wouldn't have thought self voting would have affected your own reputation. It seems somewhat counter productive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67947.42
ETH 3264.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66