[MineColonies] Translation and Proofreading in French

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

header.png

I was chilling on YouTube watching random videos when I suddenly got invited to a private Discord chat. @planetenamek and @reggaemuffin were speaking and I had no clue what I was doing there, so I asked. It turns out she thought about me when looking for help translating MineColonies, a town building mod for Minecraft, I immediately got interested in helping with the translation.

Why did you accept to collaborate ?

Minecraft is a game that marked significantly my childhood and I remember that no mods were in French back in the days, which means I didn't understand everything and wasn't fully enjoying the gameplay. I mean, even the game itself was only in English for a long time ! So I've immediately started working on it with @planetenamek, hoping that French people playing this mod would be happy to see they can play in their mother tongue.

Did everything go smooth ?

It's safe to say that it was my favorite translation project yet as @reggaemuffin and @raycoms (who joined the private Discord a bit later) were really nice and quick to answer all the questions we had. We finished the translation the same night we started it and proofread it the next day. If you are a Minecraft player who happens to play this mod in french and you see an error in the translation, please notice me about the errors and I will gladly change them if I agree with you.

How can I contact you ?

There are multiple ways you can contact me. The obvious one would be under this post in the comments section. You can also message me on Steemit chat (but I don't spend much time on there) or send me a private message via Busy. You can also add me on Discord (RagePeanut#8078) or find me on the @francosteemvotes Discord channel. If you just want to fix the error yourself though, you can find a link to the project at the bottom of this file, I'll take a look at the activity on it as much as possible.

Where are the proofs of your translation ?

As you can see on this screenshot, I translated 817 words from the 1760 available, which is roughly 46.4%.
According to another page, it's actually 792 words, that's a bit less but still over the 30% cap.

Here is a link to the open-source project translation:
https://crowdin.com/project/minecolonies/fr#
If you are interested in translating the mod to your mother tongue or a language you master, click here to read @reggaemuffin's post about it.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

This sounds like it was a brilliant effort on your part - and I can think of no better way to use one's talents than upon something close to one's heart. :c)

Good on you! Nice post also. ^_^

Thanks ! @planetenamek did an excellent job too, it kinda threw me back to when I was playing this game all day long, felt good :D

Hey @ragepeanut I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • You are generating more rewards than average for this category. Super!;)
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thanks a lot !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62934.10
ETH 2452.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66