Upvote Queue Steem Bot

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Motivation


As content curators, one thing we are always careful of is how we use our voting power. Voting power recharges at a rate of 20% / 24 hours. Unfortunately, if we come across posts within a few minutes or few hours of each other, upvoting them becomes an exercise of sacrifice. We reduce our voting effectiveness in order to save our voting power.

The reason boils down to needing to submit a vote instantly. We can avoid this hassle if only there were a feature that allowed us to defer our voting until such a time as our voting power had recharged such that we no longer needed to sacrifice voting effectiveness. What if we could queue up votes for content and let the vote happen in such a way that maximized its benefit?

That's what this bot does.

Notice this is just an example of the bot. It functions as is and is part of a greater project of examples.

How it works

Reply to comments and posts

Use the following template to reply to content you want to upvote.

## My Ultimate is Charging

![](https://steemitimages.com/0x0/https://memegenerator.net/img/instances/500x/71701676/my-ultimate-is-still-charging.jpg)

image.png

The bot uses the reply to determine what content to upvote

Run the bot

The bot runs in a docker container using the command:

export STEEM_NAME=<your steem name>
export STEEM_WIF=<your posting key>
docker run -d --rm -e STEEM_NAME=$STEEM_NAME -e STEEM_WIF=$STEEM_WIF r351574nc3/upvote-queue-steem-bot:latest

You can also add it to your environment rc:

STEEM_NAME=<your steem name>
STEEM_WIF=<your posting key>

export STEEM_NAME STEEM_WIF

alias upvote-bot="docker run -d --rm -e STEEM_NAME=$STEEM_NAME -e STEEM_WIF=$STEEM_WIF r351574nc3/upvote-queue-steem-bot:latest"

Requirements

  • Docker this project uses docker, so all requirements are encapsulated within the docker image. The only requirement is to have docker installed.

Roadmap


  • Tutorial for modifying the reply template
  • Adjustable/configurable upvote percentage

Contribution


r351574nc3#7016 on discord



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Hey there r35!

My apologies for my earlier comment. It all makes more sense now... and thank you for your upvote!

Boy do i feel like an ass...lol

🤣👍

Moar like this!

This is really helpful i really din't know about the voting power much in deeper thanks for letting us know..please keep updating about the related stuffs as it is really helpful for the newbies who are using steemit. Thanks for sharing this post.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

My Ultimate is Charging

Am I doing it right?

Yeah, but the bot has to be running for you. When I start it up, it starts with -e STEEM_NAME=$STEEM_NAME. It votes as you for whoever you reply to. Things it won't do:

  • Vote as you when other people reply
  • Vote as someone else when they reply

Unless that's what you did, you should try installing docker and running the bot. Ezpz

Note I have it set to run every hour. If you desire feature changes like you want to be able to change that or whatever, hit me up in discord or reply to me here. I will get right on that and I can probably have it ready in a few minutes for you to use. (no kidding)

My apologies but I believe Im not really sure still how it works. Sorry for that.

I'll contact you on discord one of these days. Knowledge is power! Hahaha

That's cool. Hit me up any time. I can walk you through it. Then maybe you can write a tutorial on it and get some rep from @utopian-io

Hey @r351574nc3 I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99