New Project: Steemit Massive Comment Replace

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

I was recently in the @steemcleaners #steemitabuse discord room and we were discussion phishing. Phishing is a pretty hot topic right now because in the last couple weeks there were 3 significant phishing attacks on users.

One specific phishing attack uses well-known comments by your local spam authorities and impersonates them. This gets you to click on links that you wouldn't otherwise click on. Before you know it, your account has been hijacked and you're spamming the same comments that got you caught.

@steemcleaners approach to this is to downvote the comments so people don't notice them and click on them by mistake. If you do manage to get your account back, you still have to cleanup the mess of comments left behind. There can be hundreds and it's a real pain.

I put together this simple web page that allows users to quick copy/paste comment links directly into the page, select a template body to replace with, and go.

It gives progress on which items have been replaced. Permlinks that cannot be replaced are described in red.

image.png

Usage

  1. Go to the following url https://r351574nc3.github.io/steemit-massive-comment-replace/
  2. Login with Steemconnect
  3. Add the permlinks you want to replace (press enter after each one)
  4. Setup the new replacement template
  5. Click post (catchup on Dr. Who)

Roadmap

  • Allow users to specify a daterange instead of having to paste comments.

Contributing



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

So glad I did not fall for the phishing. What a nightmare!

Moar like this!

A quick comment cleaner...Brilliant!

Thank you for making this.

What would you think about showing all the replaceable permlinks and comments within a timerange in a div and make user add the permlinks from there?

FD.

Ha! I think that would be a good idea.

Generic comments could be mistaken for spam.

Tips to avoid being flagged

Thank You! ⚜

Hi, I just followed you!

Please follow back and then we can share likes and help each other succeed! @hatu

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

Please put in more work into one of your contribution.

You can contact us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

One of my next updates is going to blow your mind. Just wait. You'll freak.

That's great to hear

Will be waiting for it!

Whew. It's done. Not the project, but the update. It's a good one. Moar to come later.

Sorry about that. I wanted to get something out there quick for the people that were being affected. There was a lot of problems with how many comments were having to be corrected. I wanted to get something out quickly or I would have put in a bit more time into it. Thanks for the accept though. I appreciate it and will make it cooler in future improvements.

Hey @r351574nc3 I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • WOW WOW WOW People loved what you did here. GREAT JOB!
  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Nice work and contribution to the community! I am grateful you found my post and commented, it really re motivated as I was really getting emotional after having received the bot message that I took for a real message! Thanks again for your help and improving the platform.

I am jumping on the occasion as I would like to get started with utopian-io to submit a new project, looking for examples as I would like to do that correctly and would definitely need friends to start in this. =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63793.25
ETH 3410.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59