Utopian-io Submission: Ulogs Task Request Part IsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Hey y'all, here's a submission for Ulogs, which I picked up some tasks for from @surpassinggoogle. The full repository is located here, and my version with the PR is here.

This submission covers tasks 1, 2, and 9 of the task request, which will be explained more below. The pull request containing these updates is number 152.

Edit: I've added 7 into this post, as I committed it into pull request 152 before it was merged. I also removed the dropdown icon noted below in task 1, as the pen icon is now just a link.

Task 1: Changing How You Select Your Editor

The first task was to change the editor selection process. In the old version, there was pen icon as on many sites, that opened a dropdown with options to go to the ulog-editor, or go to the selection page with more to choose from. Now, that pen leads straight to the selection page (I've suggested changing the pen icon to not have a dropdown arrow now, waiting on the pic), which has been updated quite a bit.

Screen Shot 2018-12-10 at 2.32.37 PM.png

Each panel is now fully collapsed initially, with cards explaining the below options above them. Each has either a button or a dropdown to select the editor, and some more text inside of the panels, explaining the art of ulogging or what the editor is for.

Task 2: Make the #ulog Tag Required

The second task was to make the #ulog tag required for all posts using a ulog editor (e.g. ulog, ulog-diy). This may not be fully implemented according to the request, as you can still remove the tag, because I wasn't about to start messing around with the lower-level React component. However, it has been made a requirement, as you can not post using these editors without the ulog tag as the first tag.

Task 7: Add Several Active and Inactive Items to the User Dropdown Menu

I've added 6 links I believe to the user dropdown menu when logged in, with only four visible for now. Two of them show coming soon alerts, 'Custom Profile' and 'Get "Certified"', and two go to link, 'Ulog-witnesses' and 'About Ulogs' (goes to the FAQ for now). Interestingly, although the dropdown was in the expected spot, a nav menu, the links that it led to were all found in src/client/Wrapper.js. Was a pretty neat request, shows what Ulogs is working on behind the scenes.

Task 9: Make the Delegate Button Available on All Post Formats

This task was to take the delegate button that's visible on all certified uloggers' posts in feeds, and making it available when the posts are expanded. This was pretty easy to implement, although there were some z-index issues with modal content (as there was no page reload, but instead posts are displayed over the previous page), but not too hard to deal with.

I've got two more tasks to complete, and two that I'm looking at feasibility of before I take them on. I'm also thinking about starting to ulog, as I like the concept as compared to me just posting in #blog. Cheers!

Vote For Me as Your Witness

Cheers, thanks for reading! If you like my tools and content and would like to see more, Vote for me as witness or proxy your votes and I'll pick the best witnesses for you!

My Projects

Pywit- A witness tool-kit built in Python on top of Holger80's Beempy.

Sort:  

Thank you for your contribution. It's great to see that you have started working on ulogs, and this contribution is a great starting point. I really like the description provided in the contribution, but would like to see some main code which you have worked on (not important though). The code looks great though it would be better if you keep consistencies between double equals and triple equals.

Would love to see more contribution from you.


Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thanks for the review! It's been a minute since I've worked with js, and I'd forgotten the triple equals until I saw it in one of the case statements. I'll fix them in my next PR with the rest of the tasks. I'll share some of the code in the next post too :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your review, @codingdefined! Keep up the good work!

Hi @petertag!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @petertag!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60994.68
ETH 2938.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46