Prey Anti thieft-Now trace and get back your lost or stolen electronic devices(Laptops/Smartphones)

in #utopian-io5 years ago

Repository

Github repository

unnamed.png

Introduction

I was wondering during my childhood days, whether will it be possible to trace the exact location and server connection of stolen electronic devices like smartphones or laptops?

And finally, after searching, here and there, I found this application viz: prey a few months back.

IMG_20190502_222007.jpg

What is prey
Prey is the application where you can find your stolen or lost smartphones and laptops. The all, you need is to allow the prey to work in the background. Moreover, you can erase and delete the data stored in the lost phone with this application.

In order to check the above-mentioned features, some days ago I listed my phone as a lost device on their website, as soon as, mine phone got connected to the internet, they managed to send the report immediately, which of course was a surprise for me.

Later I listed mine device recovered quickly as I was worried about my data. Later I came to know that you can erase data only if you want to do so. Means, by listing your device on the lost device track, they will not delete your data until you ask them to do so.

Introduction and my experience with the following features

● Three devices in one account

IMG_20190501_225350.jpg

I managed to protect mine only 1 device, but you can protect a maximum of three devices on one account. And later when sometimes your device get far away from your eyes(I mean when the device is stolen or get lost) you can simply choose the required device in order to find its exact location.

● Works silently

IMG_20190501_225618.jpg

You should not expect, that your device will remain protected, without allowing this app to run in the background. In order to protect your device, you have to allow the app to work in the background without letting anyone know. (As it works silently)

I have seen that apps which run in the background usually consume a lot of mobile power(battery), but here, I found the case is something different, means I do not come through that issue.

● QR code login

IMG_20190501_225442.jpg

You know remembering your password for one site is easy, but when we ( smart people ) are working on a number of platforms/websites were remembering your password is mandatory. But here the case is different, you can log in with just generated QR code. You know, I found this feature very good as I don't need to enter my password again and again.

● Two step verification

IMG_20190501_225727.jpg

You know that, in these days, a simple mistake of disclosing something to someone, may result in wrong results, in case it is related to your privacy. But here I found that you can have two-step verification before logging in. Means you don't need to worry about the privacy or leaking of any type of data here.

●Linking social media accounts

IMG_20190501_225810.jpg

In order to have a quick login process, I think linking a social media platform is a must.

Finally, my device is protected and can be recovered at any time in case it got away from my eyes. (BTW Which I don't wish)

IMG_20190501_225953.jpg

Conclusion

I noticed that If I need to recover the lost or stolen phone back, It is mandatory to keep this app working on my phone.

Sources

All the photos included here, are screenshots taken from the app, except the logo which is taken from Google images.

My GitHub profile

https://github.com/peerzadaaabid

Sort:  

Hello, @peerzadaaabid!

Thank you for this contribution. This is a simple and useful tool, and I appreciate the information youu have provided us with. Your review is succinct and well-illustrated with relevant images.

On the content side, this was a mixed bag for me. The post certainly contains useful information about the project, but tells the readers so little about its key features. I like all the information provided, but I wanted to read a bit more. Content creation is about volume, and this post wasn't as rich in content as we like.

Furthermore, there were serious issues of style and proofreading, making your post hard to read at times. I would advise you to consider using grammar checker software in order to enhance the readability of your texts.

I look forward to your next contribution.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your review, @lordneroo! Keep up the good work!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Really interesting..... I'm going to download this app right away! I feel safe already.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @peerzadaaabid!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @peerzadaaabid!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64359.49
ETH 2619.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83