Analyzing Delegation Generously Given by @Stellabelle

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

People that delegate their own SteemPower to another Steemain for no financial gain are the most selfless Steemits this platform has to offer.

The more SteemPower (SP) you have the higher your vote is worth. The more your vote is worth, the more you can reward authors on Steemit, and the more you can earn in curation rewards.

So anyone that delegates SP without looking for a financial reward is actually at a financial loss because they could have earned curation rewards with the power themselves.

This post is a dedication to one such person. @stellabelle. Over the last few month Stellabelle has delegated power to a number of Steemains, me being one of them. Not only this but Stella has also worked behind the scenes with others to identify accounts worthy of receiving delegated power. You can read all about it here

https://steemit.com/voteselling/@stellabelle/dear-freedom-and-whales-here-s-a-sp-delegatee-menu-to-solve-the-vote-selling-problem

The aim of this post, I hope, is to make @stellabelle proud by showing her how much reach her delegated power has had. And also to show you, how much impact it is possible to have as a delegator.

But there is something that is not included in this data. That is the personal effect this delegation has had on each one of the Steemians that received the power.

I can only speak for myself in this, but receiving this power has done so much for me. I didn’t think my reputation on Steemit would grow like it has done. This power has given me exposure that I couldn’t have imagined. It has given me confidence not only in myself but also in Steemit as a platform and the community around it. It has made me believe Steemit is the place to be and I will be a strong part of it moving forward.

I did previously analyse the data on my votes before, you can check out that post here
https://steemit.com/steemit/@paulag/2017-in-review-my-success-story-thank-you-steemit-followers-and-supporters

This post is more of an overview analysis post showcasing the reach this selfless act by Stella has achieved.

The table below shows each of the accounts that Stella has delegated power to, along with the date of delegation and the amount of SP delegated. I have added a column to this data to show how much this delegated power is worth with a 100% vote

4.png

I have connected to the Steemsql database using the following query

SELECT
*
 FROM 
Txvotes (NOLOCK)
 WHERE [voter] in ('ashleykalila', 'crimsonclad', 'futurethinker',  'inquiringtimes', 'juliakponsford', ' 
   kubbyelizabeth', ' limabeing ','mikepm74', 'paulag','reveur', 'thekittygirl')
   and timestamp >= CONVERT(datetime,'10/01/2017') 
  and timestamp< CONVERT(datetime,'12/28/2017')

I then used DAX to further filter and apply calculations to the data.

@ashleykalila

@ashleykalila received delegation from Stella on the 29th Nov, so we have less than a month’s data to look at.
5.png

We can see since delegation, @ashleykalila has voted 485 times and has reached 185 different authors. The aver % voting weight was 39.09% and the value of these votes which can be attributed to Stellas delegation is $147.86

@crimsonclad

@crimsonclad received delegation from Stella on the 19th Nov.
6.png

Over the 39 days @crimsonclad voted 1302 times and reached 5409 different authors (wow that’s amazing) the average voting weight was 9.09% and the median voting weight was 8%. The value of these votes which can be attributed to Stella’s delegation is $634.00

@futurethinker

@futurethinker received delegation from Stella on the 28th Nov
7.png

Over the month @futurethinker voted 621 times and reached 225 different authors. The average voting weight was 49.6% and the median voting weight was 43%. The value of these votes which can be attributed to Stella’s delegation is $200.47

@inquiringtimes

@inquiringtimes received delegation from Stella on the 19th Nov
9.png

Since delegation from Stella @inquiringtimes voted 1345 times and reached 534 different authors. The average voting weight was 9.09% and the median voting weight was 8%. The value of these votes which can be attributed to Stella’s delegation is $953.95

@Juliakponsford

@juliakponsford received delegation from Stella on the 28th Nov
10.png

Since delegation from Stella @juliakponsford voted 1791 times and reached 435 different authors. The average voting weight was 20.61% and the median voting weight was 20%. The value of these votes which can be attributed to Stella’s delegation is $239.96

@Kubbyelizabeth

@kubbyelizabeth received delegation from Stella on the 19th Nov
11.png

In the time since delegation from Stella @kubbyelizabeth voted 4100 times and reached 928 different authors. The average voting weight was 14.42% and the median voting weight was 4.5%. The value of these votes which can be attributed to Stella’s delegation is $780.28

@limabeing

@limabeing received delegation from Stella on the 27th Nov
12.png

Since receiving delegation from Stella @limabeing voted 210 times and reached 152 different authors. The average voting weight was 89.4% and the median voting weight was 100%. The value of these votes which can be attributed to Stella’s delegation is $360.56

@mikepm74

@mikepm74 received delegation from Stella on the 10th Nov
13.png

@mikepm74 has voted 1387 times and reached 676 authors since receiving delegation. The average vote weight was 41% and the median was 27%. The value of these votes which can be attributed to Stella’s delegation is $1531.04 (wow awesome)

@paulag

I received delegation on the 29th October, so I have had it longer that the others in this report. During this time I have voted 1894 times reaching 722 authors. My average voting weight was 36.6% and the median weight was 20%.

14.png

The value of these votes which can be attributed to Stella’s delegation is $3695.49

@reveur

@reveur received delegation from Stella on the 28th Nov
15.png

Since then @reveur has voted 812 times and has reached 329 authors with an average voting weight of 57% and a median of 80%. The value of these votes which can be attributed to Stella’s delegation is $372.53

@thekittygirl

@thekittygirl received delegation from Stella on the 27th Nov

16.png

With 956 votes to 287 different authors, @thekittygirl has voted with an average 27.5% weight. The value of these votes which can be attributed to Stella’s delegation is $346.51.

Conclusion

The effects of delegation are felt much further than to just the person that receives the delegation. With Stellas power, the combined Steemains above have left votes worth $9,262 on 5.8K different authors posts.

Speaking for myself, I know I would not have voted as much if I did not receive this delegation, so anyone that has received votes from me, you can thank my delegators for the generous rewards.
I hope this post stands as a testimony to @stellebella and her selfless act of delegation. I also hope that it encourages others to do the same.

This post has been set to 50%/50% payment. Any SBD received from this post will be used to purchase STEEM at a lower price.

I am part of a Blockchain Business Intelligence community. We all post under the tag #BlockchainBI. If you have an analysis you would like carried out on Steemit or Blockchain data, please do contact me or any of the#BlockchainBI team and we will do our best to help you...

You can find #BlockchainBI on discord https://discordapp.com/invite/JN7Yv7j



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Just a few hours ago, I was thinking and hoping this date would be pulled. Thank you paulag, you are more than worthy of such a gift of delegation. Love the data, another great post and I'm grateful for it and you! Not sure, how long we will be able to keep the delegation, but its been fun while it lasted.

I was hoping you would see this post. was going to ping you later in discord. You have done an awesome job and are also more than worthy. Its been one awesome ride

Most of us are registered with an alert system, so any mentions beckons our attention and if its tide to your name I am coming running. Just a quick correction, stella is misspelled. I'm going to miss having this delegation. I wonder how our voting habits would change if we were to keep it for 6 months or a year. Oh the growth we would experience. I wonder if we became dolphins or whales in the process if we would delegate to a minnow. All the what ifs. :)

I'm on the alert system too :-)

I think it is 5K SP to be a dolphin - I will get there soon :-)

I will miss the delegation, but I have worked so hard, I will also enjoy the break

I am far from getting there, but if I had another four month it could happen. :) Although voting like this has been beyond tiring. I will be glad to take a break too. Free delegation is awesome, but so much responsibility. How was your holiday?

sooooo enjoying the break, this is really my first day back on steemit since chrismas. how about you? Hope you had a jolly wonderful time :-)

I have had a lovely time and steeming more than ever. once I go back to work fulltime. I wont be able to be on discord as much steemit will be a lot less too. less voting more writing and commenting :)

Nice having to read through your conversation.

I will glad to take a break too.

Although mine was on a smaller scale (100SP) from manishmike, I already had a glimpse of what it meant to receive delegation.

Your integrity is on the line. Congratulations on spending the delegations responsibly. I also would like to thank @paulag personally for her support. I was one of her major benefactors.

That’s amazing, congrats! Happy holidays and I hope to see you around more :)

fantastic work Kubby :) happy holidays !

I've been awaiting this analysis and I'm pleased to see my stats, I voted like a manic and kind of hoped I got more unique users. Makes me realize I vote too much for aggroed though, sorry aggroed your getting the hook now😂 Thanks for doing these informative posts and thanks again to @stellabelle for being so generous with her steem power ❤️

congratulations @juliakponsford, you have done an awesome job. @aggroed does an awesome job, I dont think you have over voted for him at all

It’s a good point you bring up. I thought I reach a lot of new users too, but I fell in the trap of upvoting most of my friends. Which are great writers and artist and contributors to the platform. Supporting them supports so many. We shouldn’t feel bad for supporting more because at the end of day we are working towards a similar goal and working/supporting each other is the best way to get there.

it can be very very hard not to vote for 'friends' - but I look at it this way, there are some people here on steemit that started the same time as me, or helped me out when I was new, and before the delegation I voted for them. I continued to vote for them after the delegation as I dont see why I should 'stop' because I was given power. Many of these would also vote for me. Some would call this a voting circle.

What I noticed from mine is that I did not vote enough for the people that delegated to me and I should have shown my gratitude to them that way. So I can only hope that they are happy with the reach I did achieve

I realized i did the same, it was a total oversight from my part, it was like a kind of tunnel vision so concentrated in to using it properly and failing at supporting the source.

Thank you for your support. It has been a huge help in moving us forward.

I hope you will do more like this. This highlights the very important part of Steemit eco system—doing something for nothing. It would be near impossible for her alone to manually sit there and cast all those votes day in and day out.

Instead, she chose to empower those that could in a way and they went out and did far greater.

People often talk about “trying” to make the eco system a more “playing field.” Interesting enough out of all the other “options” out there I really can’t think of any that is more ethical and respectful to the ecosystem then this.

Far too many petty things happen on the blockchain that make people lose prospective. As long as there always people like her out there doing the endless background work and sacrificing tomorrow will always be a better day.

Thank you for taking the time to show the world and highlight this.

:-) you are most welcome

Is it possible to put in a request for a similar set of data for a selection of the top earners here? There are some who take a lot but vote narrow and some who vote very widely. It would be great to see how far the big earners spread their wealth within the system. I know some within the system who both delegate and vote a lot, others who do neither.

ping me on discord paulag and I will look at it in the new year for you

this is a very interesting initiative to see how everyone used the gifted delegation, I am happy to see paulag supported The Papillon Project..... a very non political and not rewarding already rich whales move that I personally find quite noble. Cheers to 2018

If you or anyone can help @mariannewest who runs #freewrite - that would be so great.

Marianne is single-handedly training minnows and can use help. Take a look at any of her #freewrite prompt posts and you will see what I mean. She is spread very thin and has a lot of little people learning steemit with her daily challenges.

I'm glad to see this delegation as opposed to ned giving huge hits to people who are already big. wtg!

I recently learned about @mariannewest and her #freewrite prompts - they look like so much fun! I've tried a few in private (not ready to go prime time yet, such an anal-retentive editor, is me) but I'm hoping to post one soon. Marianne has a freewrite channel in our writers' group, the Isle of Write - you should come check it out! https://discord.gg/8bEWsdW

I'm not using discord since it seems to crash my computer and I was not able to follow it.

The idea of freewrite is to get rid of your editor!!!!

This was so hard for me. In June-October I was producing 1000-5000 word posts here a few times a week and getting nowhere. The advice to do more and shorter posts has been a winner for me and having the freewrites to go into has been a big part of my success in posting more often.

The first ones I did took me hours still - but now I can do them pretty quickly; including a thumbnail. That has been a great benefit to me.

This data is wonderful and a little surprising - over $9,000?! That's awesome. And she picked great people to delegate to, including you @paulag and also @kubbyelizabeth who takes her curation duties very seriously.

a generous person will do anything to help others. hopefully you are always healthy @ paulag

Beautiful display of the abundance of gifts. Steemit is really a game...anarchism testing of gift economy vs take economy. Who will win??? I think we know that answer. If the Sun withheld all its light and only gave it for a fee, we wouldn’t be here now. So if people want to aspire to power, the most powerful thing to emulate is the sun! Let’s shine on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22