Steem Memo Bot

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Overview

This project allows to easily send a memo to all followers/following. This project requires that SteemJS be used with NodeJS. It is a technical requirement to be familiar with this technology stack. Here are some tutorials to get you started if necessary: https://steemit.com/steem/@money-dreamer/summary-of-technical-articles

This bot sends messages in memos to either the followers or following. This bot is a very simple demonstration and could be used to start a more sophisticated project. It has been released under “The Unlicense” to allow for any type of re-use. It is available on GitHub – follow the link below.

Configuration

It is necessary to configure the application by setting the following parameters in the config.js file:

type - followers|following
message - “message to be sent”
amount – amount of SBD|STEEM to be sent in each transaction
delay - time between broadcast transactions
start – (optional) user to start at (processes in alphanumerical order)
username – steem username
password – steem password

config.steem.type =  'followers';
config.steem.message = 'Gift!';
config.steem.amount = '0.001 SBD';
config.steem.delay = 5;
config.steem.start = ''; 
config.steem.username = process.env.STEEM_USER || 'ENTER_USERNAME_HERE';
config.steem.password =  process.env.STEEM_PASSWORD || 'ENTER_PASSWORD_HERE';



You must set your username and password where it reads 'ENTER_USERNAME_HERE' and 'ENTER_PASSWORD_HERE' in config.js, respectively.

Roadmap

Accounts could be filtered by:

  • SP
  • Followers/Following
  • STEEM/SBD Balance
  • Account Age

Details

Feel free to fork the repository and use it to get started on your own project. You can contribute by implementing the features in the roadmap and contributing ideas on how to improve the project in the comments or on issues created in GitHub.

Relevant Posts



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

I would suggest you remove the hard coded user name from the send_memo.js and use a config parameter instead.

The readme of the repo needs updating, the bot file name has changed for example.

Please include more documentation on how to use your bot in the article. You can edit it for this purpose.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you! I updated everything as you described!

This script has been integrated in here:

https://github.com/AdamCox9/Steemit-Follow-Bot

But this is the follow bot, not the memo bot isn't it?

I merged them together and the memo bot will be part of the follow bot. I'm pushing the changes in just a minute. Sorry about that.

I might have to borrow your recursive get following function and use it for getting followers. I've been looking for a straightforward way to do it.

Great! I released it under "The Unlicense" so you can do with it as you please!

Simple and understanding. One more great from you. I already bookmarked for future development. Thanks! :)

I try to keep it as simple as possible. Otherwise, I won't understand the code I wrote a couple months down the road when I want to edit it.

Hey @money-dreamer I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

amaZing man but one thing i want to know is there any option that i can make it so this script will only send memo to the people i follow not the people who are my followers?

Yes. That is what the type parameter is for. Just change it to following and this is done.

I might still be young on this steemit thing.....but wouldn't you get more satisfaction in getting real people liking your content then Bots?

NM!!!!! memo is a different kind of bot ?.....shut up im new LMAO.

great post

You are correct. It is better to find real, targeted followers. I'm doing this as research and development. These proof-of-concept projects are more of a learning experience where I am pushing the boundaries of the platform.

Most of my followers now probably will not appreciate my software development related posts and not give meaningful upvotes & re-steems.

No, this is not true, we do, all new ideas and developments are useful.
I do not like bots, (though I am already sporadically using some of them) for I too know that in the long run, it is better to get real, targeted followers, but the better road often is the longer one, and most of us have a tendency to look for shortcuts ;-)

It is probably most healthy for an account to have both bots and a human using it. Steem is undoubtedly meant for both.

I'm sure there are accounts were a human never made a single action (follow, upvote, etc...) and they are very successful and vice-versa - there are accounts that have never been used by bots and yet they are still very successful.

Thanks for your reply! I am still only learning here and yep, I should keep an open mind, hold on my judgments until I know and understand more here ;-)

Its good informative post. It will help the steemit community, thanks for sharing the post. @originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @money-dreamer to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60752.39
ETH 2904.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73