You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: All In Moderation: How To Write A Utopian Moderation Comment

It's good to know there's thought going into these kinds of details!

I find the feedback in general to be valuable. I think that for open source projects, where people may well be working individually or outside of any formal structure, getting feedback can be rare so any direction or insight is helpful.

The only (picky) point I'd raise on the above is in relation to the line:

Give the contributor feedback on the post

I know that you've covered this in the discussion that follows this point but I think that the important thing with the feedback is to:

  • Give the contributor feedback on the contribution

So for a blog post, it's one and the same thing. But for development (and probably for other areas like translation) the post itself is just a summary of the work done. I think getting feedback on the underlying work is where the most value can be obtained, at least for me.

Sort:  

I'm pretty sure that is what he meant though ;)
But yeah, that wording is misleading :)

Sure. The idea was to differentiate feedback from judgement. Most of my own moderation work is in the Blog category, where the post is the thing itself. But in Visibility, where I also help out with moderation, the ad is the thing that gets most of the feedback. That said, the post itself is always part of what we're giving feedback on. You can have an amazing project, but if you don't explain what you're doing in the post, it becomes harder to give feedback.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.20
ETH 2416.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43