Video Game Graphics designed by MagicCleatus for Occult!

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Occult_Thumbnail.png

Occult_Separator.png

Hello Steemers!

Today I share the latest graphics I have made for @fervi's video game 'Occult'. The last time I posted about it was quite some time ago, where I showed the artwork progress of a set of the Spell cards I am designing, you can check out the previous post here.

In this post I am showcasing the set of Weapon cards that I have created and explain a bit about how I made them and where the art style I'm using came from.

Firstly, a little information about the game. Occult is a card game about magic, but not just any magic, Blood Magic. It is a turn based game in which you choose a Blood Mage Hero to fight as and use your life-force/blood to summon creatures and weapons and cast spells. The aim of the game is to reduce your opponents life-force to 0. @fervi has developed and coded the game in the Enigma Dev Language and the project is open-source on GitHub. Here is the link to my GitHub Pull Request for the project

I have had a lot fun re-designing the artwork for this game, it has taught me so much about the software I use to do all of my designing, Krita, and much more. So let me show you what I've been doing.

Occult_Separator.png

Occult Weapon Cards

spr_card42_0.pngspr_card42_0.png

Here is one of the latest cards I have designed. In the game the 3 variety of cards have different coloured borders to help distinguish them easier, Green is for the Spell cards, Blue for the Monster cards and Orange for the Weapon cards. The original designs from @fervi had a lot of imagination put into them already so I didn't want to change much, instead I wanted to bring his original ideas to life.

With that in mind I created a decorative border and set the colour scheme accordingly. I liked the original silhouettes of the cards so when it came to designing the symbols for the cards I based my brush strokes on them. I wanted to keep the colour palette from the originals, the black, red and white are very striking. So I combined them with an ink brush and a symbol-art-style on an old warn paper texture that I created. I decided on an ink brush style to fit with the theme of the game, being a game about magic and mages I wanted the cards to look as if they are taken from a spell book that an ancient Blood Mage wrote a long time ago.

To draw this card, and the other graphics for the game, I am using Krita. Krita is a free illustrating/painting software and has pretty much all if not more features than the big named softwares out there and is also open source like Occult. Some of the features I used to create the symbols and effects include: The Multi-brush, Symmetry brush, Stabilizer, Transform tool, A variety of texture brushes and most importantly the Ink Brush preset which allowed from me to create strokes that start small and end big!

Below is a grid of my final edits of the Weapon cards paired with the originals, followed by a slow GIF of them in full scale:
Weapons_Grid.PNG

Occult_Weapons_Cards.gif

Occult_Separator.png

Thanks for reading, I hope you have enjoyed this insight into one of my current projects. Please let me know what you think, I would love to hear your feedback!
If you would like to see the game or keep a track of its progress check it out on GitHub a the following link: https://github.com/fervi/Occult

Here is a sneak peek at one of the Monster cards I am currently working on:
Monster_Card_Example.png
I'll write another post about the Monster cards when I have them all in a finished state.

Take care everyone, until next time! 😎

Occult_Separator.png

Sort:  

Very cool cards. You have added some details, making them more recognizable. However we are missing proof of authorship, there is no way we can prove you made this work. Furthermore there are no source files provided, so we cant evaluate the quality.
This project is quite underdeveloped and not active in its development.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your review, @andrejcibik!

So far this week you've reviewed 2 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Hi @magiccleatus! I really love what you've done here. You've been quite the busy bee ;) I agree 100% with @sallybeth23's comment below.. So much effort went into these! And I'm a big fan of card games so looking forward to future developments.. Also, you may know that I'm curator for the You Got Snekked curation project and this is just to let you know that...:

You got SNEKKED! ;)
Expect a certain Snek to come 'round and give you a bite soon ;)

@yougotsnekked is a curation project!
We aim to find good content, share a happy moment, & some visibility. Your post got our upvote, and we will feature your post and possibly an image from it in our 36th curation compilation if you don't mind! If you don't want to be featured, please let us know!

Also, feel welcome to join our community on Discord! -:

https://discord.gg/VWJxTEz

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment. I have put a lot of effort into, thanks for noticing. I look forward to hearing what you think of the game when its finished. :)

Also, Thank you for Snekking me! :P

My pleasure! =) And I'm happy you joined us over in the You Got Snekked discord! I'll be on the lookout for the game so I can test-play it... Please let me know as soon as it's done. I'll be watching but I'm also quite swamped right now so might miss it.

You sure have been busy since the last update @magiccleatus! I really like the style you have opted for with the cards, it's great to see the original idea too to see what you based your designs on. A clear and characteristic theme is visible, the deck will look so well polished once you are finished!

Looking forward to the monster cards update!

Thanks @gardeningchef! It took me a little bit of trial and error to get a style that fit well but I got there in the end. :P

Hi @magiccleatus!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Wow!!! The work you have put into these card designs is absolutely stunning! You are without doubt a very talented artist. I look forward to the games release, it looks like it’s gonna be a lot of fun to play! Truly excellent work @magiccleatus. Upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and support @sallybeth23!
I look forward to it's release too, I cant wait to see it!

Hey, @magiccleatus!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Hey, @magiccleatus

Thank you for your contribution

Congratulations on your first contribution to Utopian!

Hey MC!
STUNNING work... Man you are SO talented!!

Upvoted and resteemed :D

You got a 8.50% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @sallybeth23!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67519.16
ETH 3532.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68