You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Self-votes and Self-Service vs. Spreading the Love - Analyzing Vote Diversity in Steem

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Excellent analysis. Thank you! I’ve been meaning to do a post on bot voting which I see as just another form of self voting, in many ways. I often get people who see my wallet and then ask me for advice on how to be successful on Steemit. The funny thing is, they don’t do what I do. I don’t use bots, and I don’t self vote. My vote is too valuable in terms of helping others, building relationships, and adding value here. There are long-term game theory dynamics a lot of people don’t consider when deciding to self vote. Here’s my last 180 days:

AE84BC45-7E34-460F-9B7B-77A461A3D950.png

No self votes and yet, my account balance doesn’t seem to be suffering at all:

687FF406-ED27-4A00-8508-8168CCC7008B.png

Maybe we just need to show people a better way. STEEM works as a gift economy and people will remember (and reward) those who gift them value.

Sort:  

Thank you, Luke, great to see another witness who cares!

Maybe we just need to show people a better way.

I think this is really an important point! New users coming to Steem are welcomed with selfvoted comments and surrounded by an ecosystem dominated by (bid-)bots. Who wouldn't be tempted to turn this into profit before having a full picture of Steem. Your statement sounds so easy, but actually doing this (successfully) is certainly a tedious task! Keep it up, you have my vote already for a while.

It takes work to build a brand, provide value, and stick around for the long-term. My hope is, over the long-run, people will wish they took steps to benefit themselves as they benefit the community. To me, anything else is short-sighted. Reputation matters and what is done here on the blockchain lasts forever.

Thanks again for this post. Followed.

But that is what made you great on the steem blockchain! Not only posting and commenting but also taking the time, to reply on the genuine comments on your articles. I'm only a small red fish in the big ocean, thinking that interaction in the beginning is the utmost important thing to do, and I do find it hard sometimes to reply on all the comments but I do.
First thing to do when I do login, is to check the replies which I did receive, controlling if once needs a answer, after this list has been run through it is time, to think about a new post or finding great articles!
I do whish that all the witnesses and whales were like you! A real role model!
Thx for giving the good example and investing in the ecosystem!

Thanks for your encouragement and support. :)

Perhaps randomly reward people who don't self-vote? I like the idea.

I like the idea! Flagging those who do is a game you'll hardly win, and you probably won't make many friends on the way :)

That's great but how long have you been in steemit? Don't you think you get much reward from reputation and account age?

Of course I do! That's why I work so hard. I've been on Steemit for almost two years, and I certainly have a first mover advantage. It's confusing to me why so many people try to compare themselves with others, especially comparing their beginning with someone who has been doing this daily for almost two years. Why don't people bother to go back to my early days two years ago and see what rewards or engagement I got then? There's no free ride and no free lunch. It takes work.

Thanks for your sincerity

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65753.03
ETH 3281.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68