You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: KURE Curation Community Network - Update 10 - Comments! View, Write and Post Comments!

in #utopian-io5 years ago

Thank you very much for your contribution.

  1. I haven't login, and tried to comment, the GIF is loading forever, and the console shows the following error
steemconnect.com/api/broadcast:1 Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 401 ()
vop-2-0-taking-control-of-the-cartel-nests:1 Uncaught (in promise) SDKError: sc2-sdk error
  1. How are comments sorted? I don't see payouts for comments, so I guess they are sorted in time order? (just saw this) The comments can be upvoted/downvoted as well so you have plenty to do on your roadmap :)
  2. It is better to remove commented out code to keep the codebase clean
  3. I can see you are returning recursive promises, it would be better to set a limit (max depth), otherwise, if there are too many nested levels, there will be possibilities (in theory) of stack over flow.
  4. I would recommend you use eslintto format/check your code, If you are using VS code, you can also install a plugin e.g. Prettier formatter.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Sort:  

Thanks for the review, yes, there is a lot more to do for limiting comment depth and loading 20 at a time. And other things to do as well. All in due time hehe ;)

I try to remember to remove commented out code chunks, but sometimes forget.

Comment upvoting is coming. I don't have downvotes on posts yet, so the downvoting will be in the future after other stuff hehe.

I fixed the Home page loading issue when not logged in a few minutes ago, as someone else mentioned it to me. A change I made last week bugged that up. It works now. I'll look into the broadcast error you mention, as I thought I disabled comments from being shown if not logged in, but I guess I forgot to add that in the end, whoops. Thanks for letting me know.

I do use eslint. What formatting dislikes do you see?

Thanks again for the feedback! I always have my work cut out for me :)

Can you explain the evaluation? You seem a lot tougher on your judgment. It's the first time I've gotten below 75 I think...

  • "The post is of decent quality."

What would be a high quality post for you? I've scored high on all of the other posts where I take the time to put images and explain things. The first one or two I wasn't as descriptive.

  • "Average - it follows most best practices."

I'm curious, what have I forgotten to do this time around? I've gotten highs on all my previous posts.

For the commits and comments, do you have suggestions for what I should do to improve them? This time I admit the comments I didn't put @params for all of the functions, but the commits I try to describe them as I have before, and gotten rated as "high".

Thanks for helping me improve.

Hello, don't be upset, 73 is still very high (in my standard). I think you can improve your next contribution in the following area:

  1. unit tests. No tests are found to cover your changes. I would expect to see tests in any size of the projects, not to mention this one.
  2. some comments are not necessary, for example, Sort the Comments, comments should be clear and add additional values.
  3. The errors shown to console when users are not login (as I mentioned earlier) ==> indicates that the code can be improved in terms of robustness.

Don't take these as criticisms, you are already doing very good job and I am hoping to see more from you soon.

Thanks, I will take that into consideration. What about "The post is of decent quality."? You didn't answer me on that point. Your review and that of 3 other reviewers in utopian don't match on that category, as they all rate the posts I make as "high".

Look at my first post that got an "decent" rating:

https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@krnel/kure-development-update

It's much different than this above post, and all the others before that (update 2-9).

Look at all the other posts where I increased the quality of the post, and got a "high":

https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@krnel/kure-development-update-2-managing-users
https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@krnel/kure-development-update-3-permissions-and-communities-you-joined
https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@krnel/kure-development-update-4-browsing-content-and-adding-to-communities
https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@krnel/kure-development-update-5-home-page-filter-content-and-personalized-sidebar
https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@krnel/kure-development-update-6-view-content-and-communities-request-to-join-communities-and-approve-deny-requests
https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@krnel/kure-development-update-7-now-online-with-individual-community-group-pages-to-view-and-join-communities
https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@krnel/kure-development-update-8-ui-ux-candy-mobile-menu-infinite-scroll-and-lots-of-fixes
https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@krnel/kure-development-update-9-upvoting-content-and-pages-for-blogs-feeds-tags-created-hot-promoted-and-trending

And then look at this post you reviewed again. Why does it fall into "decent" when it is of high quality like all the others (except the first post)? I don't understand how you can rate it as "decent" only. Please elaborate on why you judged it as only decent, in contrast to 3 of your colleagues who rate my post quality as high.

Thank you.

I understand your points. The decent and high are quite subjective, that depends on the opinions of the reviewer. I am sorry that I felt it is ‘decent’ which is still very good.
Utopian does not have a clear guidance on when to rank ‘decent’ and when to rank ‘high’, if there is, and if it is a very clear criteria I am sure every reviewers will follow and mark the same.

Ok. I had asked previously "What would be a high quality post for you?" Can you show me a high quality post so I know what I need to do?

If there is no criteria from utopian for this category of quality post, how does one judge it one way or another?

Thanks.

Thank you for your review, @justyy! Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54391.40
ETH 2283.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29