Logo Design - Steemia - V2 + Comparison to the new Logo

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

SteemiaV2 vert - Tag+Type1.bb.png
logo Steemia v2 Original2k.png

About Steemia:

You can read more about the project on their blog: https://busy.org/@steemia-io

This app will provide the users an enriched user experience
plus features commonly encountered in a casually used social media.
The goal of this project is to give the community a mobile app
where they can do their daily activity in the blockchain.”

https://utopian.io/utopian-io/@steemia-io/steemia-logo-design-request

Details

Card Board Concept.png

Logotypes and Variations

SteemiaV2 vert - Tag+Type3.pngSteemiaV2 vert - Tag+Type2.pngSteemiaV2 vert - Tag+Type1.pngSteemiaV2 hor - Tag+Type3.pngSteemiaV2 hor - Tag+Type2.pngSteemiaV2 hor - Tag+Type1.pngSteemiaV2 vert - Tag+Type1.bb.png

Color Variations

Busy & Steemit Coloring

Busy Coloring.pngSteemit Coloring.png

Monochrome

White with without background

White.pnglogo Steemia v2Wh.png

Black with without background

Black.pnglogo Steemia v2Bl.png

Outlined Black and White

logo Steemia v2Ol.pnglogo Steemia v2Ol2a.png

Size Variations

Size_Steemia V2512p.png

Action Bar Dialog And Tab Icon

Size_Steemia V224p.pngSize_Steemia V236p.pngSize_Steemia V248p.pngSize_Steemia V272p.pngSize_Steemia V296p.png

Small Contextual Icon

Size_Steemia V216p.pngSize_Steemia V224p.pngSize_Steemia V236p.pngSize_Steemia V264p.png

Notifications Icon

Size_Steemia V222p.pngSize_Steemia V233p.pngSize_Steemia V266p.pngSize_Steemia V288p.png

Launcher Icon

Size_Steemia V248p.pngSize_Steemia V272p.pngSize_Steemia V296p.pngSize_Steemia V2144p.pngSize_Steemia V2192p.png

Benefits / Improvements

The proposed Logo Features abstract but relatiable elements and is easily recognisable in smaller variations as you can see in the Splash screens above. The coloring Links to Steemit and Other Steem Blockchain Projects, it's easily adaptable to whatever color pick the steemia brand chooses. The Vectors are cleaned and simple, there are three main pieces all working towards achieving a intriguing logo design ;)

MockUps

MockupColor.png

MockupWhite.png

Comparison to the Picked Logo

SteemiaV2 vert - Tag+Type1.aa.png

The Font is Stronger and sticks together more, it's readable and understandable, maybe not the best for a title font, but reliable. The Icon lends itself to almost any tag line and any color and it's as simple as the Zbrushy Sphere Connection Logo :) but the design there is also really well fleshed out :)

https://utopian.io/utopian-io/@oups/steemia-logo

Tools

  • Cinema 4D - Produced the Vectors and Banners (It's my strong suit) Use any Vector or Graphics Software you are experienced with! But Always strive for greater heights

  • Illustrator - Mockup Blueprint, Size Variations, Coloring, Shape Cleaning, Export, Final Shots

Original files

Font is Segoe UI, everyone with windows has it :) reliable

I have a lot more ideas, but I will refrain from sharing everything, the time for the contest is over, I'm doing a last minute entry just to finish up and release at least one of the designs, I couldn't manage exporting and posting all of the other ones, maybe they would be useful in the future :)

Cheers, @j3dy!



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Your contribution cannot be approved because it does not follow the Utopian Rules.

HARD rules broken:

  • "A contribution must contain benefits of your work to the project owner." - you did not privde required size of logo

  • "Logo design contributions must contain ... monochrome version"

  • "logo designs must be delivered in a vector file (e.g. .eps/.svg/.pdf) for flexibility and scalability"

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

  1. he did provide the size required. In source files the png version 2.
  2. In size variations (google drive) there is a black and a white version. Also in his presentation.
  3. That is indeed a issue. But if you tell him he wil probably provide it.

moderation fail.png

You should know what the rules say.

Not respecting one or more of the rules below will lead to direct rejection of your contribution.

Logo design contributions must contain the actual logo (logomark/logotype), the logo in a form of an icon, logo variations in terms of size and colour (monochrome and full-colour versions).

Graphics contributions can be delivered in .psd, .ai, .cdr or any other universally accepted file format except logo designs. Those must be delivered in a vector file (e.g. .eps/.svg/.pdf) for flexibility and scalability, and .png file format.

Andrej gave the reasons and pointed to rules that were not met.

I allready disproved two of those points. And the .eps/.svg/.pdf i agree with. But that can be added in 3-4 seconds if the moderator would give him the time.

@espoem. Then please look at this and act accordingly.
https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@andrejcibik/steemia-logo-contribution

still it's your mod's job to be moderate I thought it was implied in the name, my contribution contained:

... the actual logo (logomark/logotype), the logo in a form of an icon, logo variations in terms of size and colour (!!monochrome and full-colour versions).

!! two color versions + one black with a white background and one white with a black background were included, yeah btw proofread your rules, colour sounds like folour(flour not follower)

Graphics contributions can be delivered in .psd, .ai, .cdr or any other universally accepted file format except logo designs. Those must be delivered in a vector file (e.g. .eps/.svg/.pdf) for flexibility and scalability, and .png file format.

I did deliver the source files and they were in .ai since that is what you are accepting, those files have the maximum editability, I had included the .png as well and I have since provided another resolution for the main logo, I didn't see the point in cluttering up the folder with redundant formatting, but you have it, you have extra six files with extra vectors, because .ai isn't enough I suppose.

So yeah all that was there and I don't see why after working on this for nearly a week and on this post in particular for around a day+(8 hours), I just don't see why missing a fully black and a fully white image(after they are included anyways, b/w with backgrounds...) missing derivative vector formats(took me a minute to export and add to the cloud, same would have happened if a task holder is interested in using my works, I'd be happy to help) oh and what was the last, first yeah resolutions, I suppose you should just make a list of the sizes you are expecting to see, again it takes a second to make any resolution (if you have the space capacity for it you can make gigabytes of raw files, I don't see why there is a need for a 2k version when you can see everything on the 512 and 1000 versions)

so please tell me why my 20 hours of work are useless, please convince me those 3 things that take a minute each are more important then everything I've done and all the hoops I've jumped for you so far.

Also thanks for stopping by as well :) your time is valuable to me and your critique is being noted, even if I don't see anything that will help me grow as an artist coming out from the mods, I don't see any objective reasons people here aren't working together, rather than against each other.

Cheers :)

maybe you missed it in the source files, 2k .png
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1JbW3l-hzbv3neXIlc0lB0HLly8-ALjfI

Also added more vector files for flexibility, I've already linked the source. Everything was already uploaded I've added the formats you requested.

And I've added a more Black and more White Versions ...

Yes, I missed it because it wasnt there and still isnt.
They said 2000x2000 and you provided 1000x1000 and after the deadline.

Snímka.JPG

Loading...

Source Folder now contains 9 files:

  • Source File
  • 6 Vector files 3 for the source and 3 for the variations
  • Two HD and 2k Icons in .png format derived from the Source File.

Variations Folder has been extended with another 5 images for the Monochromier versions

Post is updated with a 2k Icon and the Monochrome Versions,

Thanks for stopping by.

Hi, the contribution has been accepted. You provided the files and it was overlooked by us. We do not favour anyone and we try to make Utopian work as best as we can.

The rules and the process of reviews are continuously developed and sometimes there is a misunderstanding in the communication. I am sorry if you feel that we are against you. That is not the case.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your time!

I know you are and I've seen improvements, I think your are moving in a great direction, Utopian is doing great, it's just that I'd like to see it being awesome :) so for that moderators and contributors have to work together, rules can't facilitate communication, that's up to the people themselves.

I'm sure it's not personal since I know 50% of contributions get rejected, still I hate it when I spend days and get a vague explanation that basically tips me off in the wrong direction (I get annoyed rather than find the flaws in the design and improve for the future)

Thank you kindly once again and thanks for the conversation @espoem, @andrejcibik (you have responded promptly again +1) (although you are a hard person to convince) and @zoef for sticking up for me as well.

Overall I'm very grateful to Utopian and I'd like it to do well, in short I think it's up to the people as with anything, so whatever happens I'm hoping we can grow as human beings and not just rule followers. PS Hence why I'm trying not to share my bile opinions when mods leave me with a bitter taste. rather trying to look forward for the betterment and for potential solutions and improvements to the workflow.

I'm sure that if everyone works in the spirit of Open Sourcing their works and providing the quality they'd expect to see to the best of their ability, while taking a second to put themselves in the person's shoes when reviewing works and helping them out straighten their skillset and grow as a creative human being, I'm sure that it would be a place I like staying in and growing, hopefully better and working out for everyone involved :)

@j3dy, Contribution to open source project, I like you and upvote.

Achieving a well designed logo requires really hard work and being up to date with the latest trends in design. It's probably the best way of establishing brand identity, I like..

Hey @j3dy I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84