Sort:  

Hey, I will try this on Linux Mint, thanks!

I have Furion's version of Steem-python on Linux Manjaro which works and I tried on Linux Mint with Anaconda and official Steem-python and it didn't work. Now I can try your solution, great!

I'm working on conda recipe for Furions'version at the moment.
When I'm finished, you can do conda build recipe_dir
Stay tuned :)

this isnt working for me on Linux Mint .. when I try conda install steem I get "Packages Not available" error .. I have conda-forge installed ...

There are 2 packages missing. I pushed a PR for them , lets wait.

okay, thanks for your reply ... I have steem installed in my /usr/local/ and can run it as python3.5, but regular python and anaconda do not see it, ie "no module named steem (or beem)" ... also is it necessary to set the API address somewhere? When I try to connect to Steem I just go into a recursive loop ...

Does conda install steem work?

Not on Linux Mint .. Packages not available ...

I realized the issue is that I'm on a linux32 machine but Steem isnt available for that architecture on conda forge .. why is that?

nice to see people fixing the problems themselves

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hey @holger80 I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

What do we need to do to get this to work with PIP? Unfortunately for me, the majority of my toolchain is managed by PIP and I kind of need it for keeping things maintained. As such, I can't trivially make the jump to Anaconda.

(I knew making the jump to Python 3.6 was going to be controversial, but I didn't realize how many tools had very subtle inconsistencies that it would take a long time to work out. I also didn't expect that the Python steem module was going to be one of those.)

You could also try beem, a python library for steem which has very few dependencies.
https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@holger80/next-update-for-beem-a-python-library-for-steem

This looks very promising indeed. Thank you very much; I'm pretty sure I can work with this.

Are you talking about PIP on windows? You need visual studio installed.
The main problem is to install pycrypto with pip on windows. If you getting errors recarding import winrandom then you should apply the patches from here: https://github.com/conda-forge/pycrypto-feedstock/tree/master/recipe.

Do you need CLI? This is also a problem.

Yes, PIP on Windows.

The problem with Visual Studio is that it refuses to install the bulk of its code on the system install drive, which in my case (and a lot of people's cases) is an SSD with relatively limited space beyond the operating system core itself. And no, you can't tell it to install elsewhere. It's been brought up to Microsoft that this is perhaps one of the worst install non-options ever seen, to which their response is a dead eyed stare.

pycrypto is the problem, no doubt. The fact that it is an abandoned project only multiplies the issues. Apparently, the migration path is to go off to pycryptodome, but reengineering the steem module to use a different crypto hardness is well beyond the level of "being responsible" that I want to get into.

Really, what I want is a decent Python-side module for dealing with a lot of steem data. The MongoDB interface on SteamData is very nice, and I like it a lot – but it doesn't allow for interaction and that would be nice.

@holger80 after trying many tricks to get in installed and failing, finally I have been able to install steem-python thanks to you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68916.78
ETH 3733.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73