Scorum: WHERE EVERYONE IS A SPORTS PUNDIT. PART 1.

in #utopian-io5 years ago (edited)

The suspense, the thrills, the skills, the movements, the actions. These are the things we love about sports.

Sports have been in existence for a very long time. There are different stories behind the origination of sports. Well, those stories don't really matter anymore. What matters is that sports happened then and it is happening now and even better. Sports has come and its here to stay.

Over time, sporting activities have been revolutionized. The way some sports were played then, is not the same way it's played now. A lot of changes have occurred and more changes will still occur.

Aside from the changes the sports revolution introduced, the revolution made sports one of the most lucrative businesses on earth. I don't think I'm exaggerating about that fact.

Aside from the mouth-watering salaries of these sports personnel, virtually anything connected to sports is lucrative.
From kits designers, media coverage, sports journalists, sports writers, sports betting agencies, etc. All these personnel is earning heavily from sports.

In this article, I will be talking about sports writers or bloggers per se.

Talking about sports is a common thing today. Well, I don't know about other countries, but in my country, it is.
In every conversation between two or more young men, sports is being discussed. Football to be precise. It is no surprise at all because, football is the commonest sports in the world.

Discussing sports casually with friends definitely isn't a lucrative activity. But, what if there was a place to discuss sports and you could earn something while doing so?

Recently, I caught wind of a platform where users can blog about sports and earn rewards while doing so.
So basically, the platform is quite similar to steemit, but, with different a constrained kind of content. On steemit, you can blog about anything. On this platform, you can only write blogs about sports.

I was excited when I heard of this platform. I love talking about sports. Football to be precise.
My favorite football club is Chelsea. Which is an English football club. I seldom watch when other teams are playing though. After a football match during the weekends, I and my friends spend time discussing the game we just saw. We spend ample time analyzing different scenarios how the match should have gone better for our team. Sometimes we blame, the players, sometimes, the coach. On rare occasions, we blame the referee and tag him partial. It's always fun to talk about sports.

The platform where you can share your view on sports is "SCORUM".

In this series, I'm going to be reviewing the Scorum platform. There are a lot of talking points about the platform. That's the reason I'm making it a series and not a single post.

In this article, I will be doing a general overview of the project. Which would majorly be first impressions. My reason is that I recently joined the platform. I'm yet to create an article too. I know I will have lots of talking points after the fixtures this weekend have been played.
Aside from discussing my first impressions about the platform, I will briefly explain how the platform works.

Here's the concise list of what I will be discussing in this article;

  • What is Scorum?
  • How the platform works
  • My first impression
  • Summary.

What is Scorum?


source

Scorum according to the "about" section on the webpage, sports-optimized blogging platform that rewards active users.
This means that the majority of content published on the platform is about sports.

Aside from just blogging about sports, the scorum platform offers some other services that are still correlated to sports.
Scorum offer the following other services;

  • Commission-free betting exchange
  • Zero fee fantasy sports platform
  • Advertising system.

These services are the 4 cores of the scorum platform. These platforms will be talking points in the next episodes on this series.

In this article, I will focus only on the blogging platform.

How the platform works.

The platform isn't difficult at all to understand and use. Like I stated earlier in the introduction, Scorum shares some similarities with Steemit.
The platform is quite easy. You don't require high-end technical know-how to navigate through the platform. However, for the sake of doubt, I will make a step by step guide of how the platform works or how to use the platform.

To use the platform, the first thing you need to do is;

  • Register an account.

Registering an account is the first thing you need to do as a user. The process is quite easy and fast.
You only require your email address and a peculiar username and that's it.
The process is too easy and extremely fast.

After creating an account, you can now set up your user profile

  • Set up profile.

Profile setup after account creation is good. But it might not be your priority right after registration.

After setting up your profile, the next step is to start blogging.

  • Creating articles.

To create an article, you simply need to click on your profile avatar and select write a new post.
After opting to write a new post, the post editor page opens up.

You are required to enter a title and thereafter your content.
After creating the content, you can now publish. But before you publish, you will select the sports category that matches your article. Then after that, you input tags.

When your post has fulfilled all righteousness you can now publish it.

Every article published in accordance with the platform's structure is eligible for a potential reward.

  • Reward system.

The reward system is somewhat similar to Steemit. On Scorum, community members are rewarded by the community with upvotes. Same as is done on Steemit.

Again, the misconception of Steemit is still valid on this platform. Just like Steemit, the cause of this misconception is how Scorum is defined.

A sports-optimized blogging platform that rewards active users.

If I hadn't used Steemit before I knew of this platform, I'm certain, I'd have fallen for those lines.

  • Reward claim.

After seven (7) days, the rewards generated from a post can be claimed in the Scorum wallet. I have no knowledge of how the reward payment is split.
On Steemit there is 50/50, 100 percent power up, and decline payout. I haven't seen any of those settings yet on Scorum. So I assume after 7 days, users can claim their Scorum token. But, then again, I think it would be split in Scorum power and actual Scorum.


There is no much talking point about how the scorum platform works. The platform requires basic knowledge to understand. Furthermore, since it shares a lot of characteristics with Steemit, it wouldn't be hard to use even as a first timer.

First Impressions.

When I heard about the platform, I was overwhelmed. It was actually mixed feelings for me. I had a feeling of joy at first, because, now all my football analysis can be productive. At the same time, I felt sad that I just got to know about the platform quite late.

When I visited the platform's webpage for the first time, I was amazed. The User Interface was appealing. I was greatly impressed by how content was displayed on the webpage.

I wish steemit and other steem web clients would buy the idea of the design.

Furthermore, I was impressed with the fact that virtually every sport played on Earth and maybe in Mars were available on the platform. Football had the most articles in the preview posts I saw. We can guess why it so though.

Aside from the User Interface of the platform, I enjoyed the ease of signing up. It was like a walk in a park. Even much easier and faster. Account creation and verification took less than 2 minutes. If that's not impressive, I don't know how else to describe it.

Before I joined the platform, the only information I had of it was that it was a sports blogging platform. I was surprised and ecstatic too when I learned about the betting platform and fantasy football platform. All embedded inside the parent platform "Scorum".

I took some time to check out the betting and fantasy sites. The betting site most especially. Again I was impressed by how everything was arranged. I will avoid discussing the betting platform in this article. The betting platform will be explicitly discussed in its own episode, in this series.

Conclusively, the platform gave me a very good first impression. I look forward to creating contents.

Summary.

In this article, I have been able to discuss all the talking points I mentioned in my introduction.

There are a lot of things that would have been said in this article but were purposefully omitted. The idea is to make this series organized, and I think those points would be better discussed in the next episode.

Scorum is an amazing platform. Although it shares very significant traits with steemit, I like the fact that it is constrained to just sports. The project owner(s) made a strong statement about why Scorum is better than Steemit. The point will be discussed in an episode in this series.

In the next episode, I will be reviewing the features of scorum. Emphasis will be on the blogging website. As the series progresses, I will be reviewing the betting and fantasy website.

Thanks for reading.

Links

Resources:

  • Content was created based on my own knowledge of the platform
  • The images used in this article are screenshots from my PC or mobile phone. Other images used, are properly sourced.

Series backlinks:

This is the first post of the series.

Github profile:

https://github.com/HarryHeights

Sort:  

Thank you for this contribution. This is another interesting project that I knew nothing about, so I appreciate the information you have provided me with. Making money by blogging about sports sounds like a really nice way of making a living.

On the content side, this was a mixed bag for me. Even though I like all the information provided, I must admit that I wanted to read a bit more about the project itself. I do realize that an introductory paragraph is designed to grab people's attention, however I think that this would have been a better post if you had shared a bit more information about the project, especially after such a long and detailed introduction.

Once again, your post is comprehensive and well-illustrated with relevant graphic content. You also did a good job providing information about the platform and its features, while making sure to include your own views and impressions. Keep up the good work.

That said, there were issues of style and proofreading. Regardless, I enjoyed reading your review.

I look forward to your next contribution.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thanks for your review @lordneroo. I will talk about the platform extensively in subsequent postings.
That being said, I would love to know areas where my grammar was poor. Especially when your review is that it is below average.

Hello!

I will provide a few examples for you:

It is no surprise at all because, football is the commonest sports in the world.

This sentence should read: ''It is no surprise at all because, football is the most common sport in the world."

So basically, the platform is quite similar to steemit, but, with different a constrained kind of content.

To be honest, I don't really understand what you meant to say there.

You only require your email address and a peculiar username and that's it.

This sentence should read: ''You only need your email address and a peculiar username and that's it."

You don't require high-end technical know-how to navigate through the platform.

Again, this would be a much better sentence: ''You don't need advanced technical knowledge in order to navigate through the platform.''

Sometimes we blame, the players, sometimes, the coach.

No need to use a comma after the verb; there is no subordinate clause, appositive, or other special situation calling for a comma. This would be much better: "Sometimes we blame the players, sometimes the coach."

I hope you will find this comment useful.

Yes I did. Thanks. But those few omissions couldn't have hurt reading experience though.

Anyways no qualms.

Those are just a few examples.

Thank you for your review, @lordneroo! Keep up the good work!

You should research into the reward claim well. Most of the explanations given in that section is not correct.

Well thank you. If you read the article thoroughly, I mentioned on several occasions that I just got to know about the platform. I'm still figuring a lot of things out. This article is mostly my first impressions of the platform. But then thanks again.

Hi @harry-heightz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I guess it will surely be great to be a football pundit like Jose morinho. Great write up

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 2 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 146 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi, @harry-heightz!

You just got a 8.59% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hey, @harry-heightz!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91